Pancho Villa Baked Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
You can cook the tilapia whole. It took me forty minutes at 400 degrees to cook two 1.5 pound fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I did this slightly different - I put all fillets on a large piece of foil, spooned the diced tomatoes over the top, drizzled with lime juice and placed lime slices on top of that. I didn't have cilantro so I used dried parsley and sealed with foil over the top. I also baked it slightly longer, maybe 25-30 minutes. It was served with rice and a vegetable. Excellent dish if you are trying to lose weight but don't want to feel still hungry at the end of a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Definitely an easily prepared meal, and it looks beautiful in presentation. I forgot to add oil at all, and it did not stick. The spice and freshness was very nice. The lower rating is because I find tilapia to "fishy" for my taste, and something to thicken the juices would greatly improve the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
It seemed like the fish didn't absorb the flavor of the tomatoes, chilis, and juices very well. It's unfortunate because I was really excited about the recipe. Perhaps it would work better if it was baked longer. FYI, I cooked it for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
This was super easy and had a great flavor. I used parchment paper and then wrapped it in foil. I used a red jalapeno and canned tomatoes. I added slices of garlic. Try it during the week for an easy, yummy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
My husband and I love this recipe and have it regularly. We didn't need to use the olive oil on the foil because of the juices from the spicy tomatoes. It is so light and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Easy to prepare. Delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This was just ok. I suspect the key to this recipe is to use a very high quality salsa or pico de gallo. I also didn't like the baked cilantro taste, I prefer it fresh. Don't think I'll make this again. If I do, I'll sautee the tilapia, and the top with salsa and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I thought the fish was kinda bland recipe calls for no salt and with fresh fish of this type there isn't much of a flavor. I also thought that the only flavor that was well absorbed was the LIME nothing like biting into a spicy tart lime. the fish did taste better 2 days later But I had so many leftovers I wouldn't try this recipe again. It was A Big Dissapointment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALL4GROV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
Tried this with my family several times. Kids and wife actually like it a bit better when I substitute the diced tomatoes and chiles with a fiery homemade salsa. Great recipe and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States