Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
Read "The Subtle Art of Perfect Pancakes" on this site. This article has several tips, one of which is to refrigerate the batter for a while to allow the gluten to settle down and let the baking powder start to act, resulting in fluffy pancakes. Also , do not stir before using as this pops all the little bubbles created from the sitting. Interesting, huh!?! Anyway, except for a little vanilla, made recipe as it reads and I was happy with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
481 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Great pancakes! I looked through the previous reviews and changed the recipe: 1. Add 1 teaspoon cinnamon 2. Add 1/2 teaspoon vanilla 3. Use only one egg with a doubled recipe 4. Chill the batter for 20-30 minutes beforehand 5. Use 3/4 cup milk (or 1 1/2 cups milk with a doubled recipe) I also used melted butter instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Excellent. I've been using the Good old Fashioned Pancakes recipe from this site for ever and found this one to be much much better. Batter was perfect. Looks thin when you put it on the griddle but fluffs up so nicely. I use a little shortening on the griddle so they don't stick. My new favorite pancake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This recipe is easy, quick and fluffy.....stores well in a container in the fridege so that I can make just as much as I like and save some for another day, stores well in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Excellent recipe, they came out fluffy. I also added 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon. In the summer I added finely chopped fruit to the mixture ie. apple, peach and banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
These were perfect pancakes!!! I added a 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla to the liquid portion of the batter, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. They turned out light and fluffy and were so good that syrup and butter were optional. I will make these again and again! So much better than Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I have finally become wise. I realize that no one recipe of pancakes is faultless. Everyone has a different taste. In our family, we all like the whole grain pancakes from the health store mix that my mom made while we were young. I tried these, and no one DISliked them--one of my sisters, the one with the deviant taste from the rest of us, said that she loved them and ate about 5--but I felt that they weren't quite what I was looking for. Maybe they would have been better with a touch of vanilla for flavor, or if I had used whole wheat instead of white flour, at least in part. However, it was worth a try. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was an easy simple recipe that I already have all the ingredients on hand at all times. My family loved it! My husband even ate one and he NEVER eats pancakes! I added a tiny bit of vanilla like a lot of other users suggested but I didn't cut down on the milk. I guess that just depends on what type of texture you prefer. I like my pancakes a tad on the thin side so it was great for us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreeAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Made these for breakfast and they were good. I added just a bit of vanilla flavoring...love the stuff and it turned out very good. Thank you for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I used "soured" lactose free milk in this recipe. I made no other changes or substitutions. The pancakes turned out light and fluffy. I served this with homemade strawberry topping and whipped cream. My family ate every single pancake. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 789) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States