Pancakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Every time I attempt pancakes they turn out too dense and heavy. No one in my family likes it when I make pancakes although I'm a pretty darn good cook otherwise. Pancakes have been my kryptonite but with this recipe my family was thrilled! I made them exactly by the recipe and they were delicious! Can't wait to make them more often and am anxious to try with bananas or blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Haight

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe was just as good as from the box, its so simple I don't see why anyone would spend extra money and buy the box mix when they already have all the ingredients which should be staples in anyone's home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I follow this recipe exactly, and perfect pancakes every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This pancake recipe is amazing. I've even converted non-pancake eaters with it! I also often make it gluten free and substitute an equivalent amount of buckwheat flour and add a touch more baking powder to help it rise, and they still work fantastic! One of the best recipes I've ever found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Very eggy. Now don't get me wrong, the end result was delicious, but it's not what I would call a pancake. If anything else, I'd say it's closer to french toast. Maybe try it with out the egg next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Excellent! I used coconut oil and buttermilk (what I had in the house) and these pancakes were quick, easy, and delicious. I did let the batter sit a few minutes while the griddle heated. Next time I will try to minimize or eliminate the sugar, since I'm trying to cut it out of my diet, and it may not be necessary for a good result. UPDATE: I've made these several times now. Definitely use buttermilk - they turn out light and fluffy. They also freeze and reheat well. I tried once with almond milk and they were flat and heavy. You can easily cut back on the sugar (it makes the pancakes brown too quickly), and I substituted xylitol with success. No more mixes for me! This is THE go-to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this, this morning and everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I found these pancakes to be very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Made this recipe a couple of times now and it always turns out great. Very flavorful as the recipe is written, and I have also made some "special" ones too. I added a 1/2 tsp of vanilla, and that was super. This morning I added some diced ham to the batter for "Hamcakes", one of my families favorites. Anyway, the basic batter is foolproof, and can be made into many variations without worry. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Works well, it is a really good basic pancake recipe. Made no changes but used a 1/2 cup mesure for scooping the batter because we like ours on the larger size. Made two batches and ended up with no leftovers with a family of four. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States