Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This recipe is very authentic! All the ingredients contribute to its unique taste. Don't skimp...go to your local Asian market and get the ingredients. Also very very easy to make. Reminded me of my favourite Thai restaurant I always ate at in Hawaii! Will be making this again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Combs
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This recipe was pretty good over all, but it needed ALOT more heat. I like my Thai food super spicy and this dish was REALLY sweet. I'd probably make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Combs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This is awesome! Just like the restaurants! I added a bunch of slightly grilled bell peppers to the curry and it was a full meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this recipe is PERFECT. we didn't put in the fish sauce, yet it still tasted exactly like the one at my favorite thai restaurant! However, we added some bell peppers for a little extra crunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
At the suggestion of the old dude at the local Asian market, I first heated up the oil and added a 4 oz can of panang curry paste with 2 decent-sized crushed garlic cloves, then added sliced chicken and cooked very slowly on low heat until nearly done. I then added 1 TBS of fish sauch, torn/bruised lime leaves (and removed when serving), 1 TBS of palm sugar, and 2 cans of coconut milk and simmered until the sauce thickened slightly, about 10-15 mins. Turned out wonderful and fragrant, and the smell alone had my neighbors asking what I was making, drooling over my front door.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
349 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Prague, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Absolutely Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I love panang curry dishes- chicken, salmon, tofu.... bring them on. I'm actually embarrassed writing this review, because when we made this we didn't have more than half of the ingredients. Since we were in the mood for it, we decided to try making it with what we did have. We cooked the panang paste over medium heat until fragrant, about 1 minute (I didn't add any oil, because I couldn't find a site to tell me how much oil to put in the frying pan. We then added the coconut milk, stirred until incorporated while bringing to a boil. Next, added chicken. Cooked for 5 minutes (that's when it finished cooking). Removed chicken and set aside. Stirred in 2T of brown sugar (instead of palm sugar), and 1T Worsheshire and 1 T soy sauce (we thought we had fish sauce). We simmered that for 20 minutes, to allow the sauce to slightly thicken. Returned chicken to the pan, to warm and cover in sauce. Plated with rice. This was absolutely delicious, we'll definitely be making this again when we have ALL of the ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Absolutely delicious! We didn't have the kaffir lime leaves, so zexted a lime. We also didn't have the palm sugar, so I used agave nectar. And I used regular basil leaves instead of Thai basil. It was as good as I've had in any restaurant. We LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA
Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
My husband made this subbing the chicken with tofu, snow peas, grated carrot, and green pepper. It was fantastic! The flavor was nice and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
i recently moved from a big city to a really small rural town and couldn't find a decent chicken panang curry anywhere! this recipe tasted EXACTLY like the one i missed so much. 5 tblspoons of the panang curry paste made this wayyy too spicy for me though. i will definitely use less next time. i had to add more coconut milk to make it less spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States