Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Single ladies serve with a warning....bring knee pads and ring! Absolutely, a delicious meal! Feel free to add lightly steamed broccoli too. Sorry Thai Pavillion, I'll be serving this one at HOME & saving my $$$ :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Made this for a crowd and everyone loved it! Very mild, and sooo tasty! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
great variation on your typical curry recipe. Although I hate it when people rate a recipe then change it a million ways, I highly recommend cooking the curry paste, chicken, adding some garlic and freshly minced ginger together before adding the coconut milk. Also nice to add some thinly sliced red peppers near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I'm pretty critical of some of the reviews on this site, but I thought I'd try this one out anyway. Took the previous review from "Duckman" and made it just how he said, with the exception of using lime zest and a squirt of lime juice in place of the leaves that I couldn't find ANYWHERE and a few minor adjustments mentioned later in this review. This turn out VERY well. I consider myself an above average chef, and I make some pretty delicious gourmet stuff - This recipe does not disappoint! It's surprisingly easier than it sounds, especially if you do veggie/chicken prep before you start. I also added sliced red bell pepper and used light coconut milk - the extra water required a lot more simmering - like 15 minutes more - but the wait was soooo worth it. Will definitely be making again! Thank you so much for posting, and thank you for your comments too, Duckman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Phenomenal recipe! Whole Foods had everything I needed. I added fresh green beans and sliced fresh red and orange bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Sharma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I too had to figure out a way to make my favorite Thai dish - and tweaked it a bit by substituting a couple (hard to find) ingredients and adding a couple that make it simply killer (peanut butter). And just as an fyi... using lime juice instead of lime leaves does not work as a substitution. A kaffir lime leaf tastes and is used more like our bay leaf, not a lime. Just to simplify, here is my ingredient list: Panang Curry paste / Lite coconut milk / Crunchy Peanut butter / (to make a substitute for Kaffir lime leaves, use 1/3 of each: lime zest, fresh thyme and a bay leaf. Use lemon thyme if available.) / Brown Sugar / Hoisin Sauce / Fresh basil chiffonade / Red Pepper / Green Pepper / chicken breast / Lime juice / Jasmine rice. The crunchy peanut butter adds another Thai dimension that just "makes" this dish, IMO. (not sure if it changes the name of the dish.. but who cares!?!) The kaffir lime leaf substitution took some research and is a wonderful replacement trick. This dish is ridiculously easy to make, and so impressive! Not to mention sooooo good. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I fell in love with Panang Curry at our local Tai Restaurant, and finally realized if I knew how to make it, I would be saving a lot of money!!! (That's how much I've liked it!) I asked the kind owner who is from Tailand and, bless his heart, he brought me out their fresh curry, cane sugar, coconut milk, and kaffir leaves and told me how to make it!! This recipe is almost exactly what he described to me, except he had me cook the curry with the heavy cream on the top of the coconut can until heated, then add the chicken to cook. Finally add the rest of the coconut can (the thinner liquid in the bottom of the can) with the remaining ingredients. Finally, when removed from heat, add cut sweet peppers and broccoli...YUM!!! Needless to say, I WILL be returning to this restaurant again and again... Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Great Curry recipe; it got me cooking with ingredients I don't normally use. I used Mai Poi curry paste and far preferred the result over most restaurants I've been to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was so simple I thought I was skipping something. Used each of the exact ingredients (except used light coconut milk and a bit more chicken) and took other reviewers advice of adding garlic in the oil and cooking the chicken along w/ the paste. Added some red peppers for color and served over a mound of sticky rice. Yum, will make again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Delicious with potatoes. I used brown sugar because I can't find palm sugar. One tbls of paste was sufficient for me in regards to heat and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States