Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Can't believe no one has suggested this so far... add 1 tbsp of peanut butter, and a small handful of roasted peanuts. The crunchy texture takes this dish to the next level. Also, sliced peppers (green & red), and onion are a must, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Like someone already mentioned, cook the curry powder in oil, first. Then add the onions and cook until caramelized. Finally add the rest of the spices, stewed tomatoes, etc., one by one. I added pre-seasoned rotisserie chicken instead of plain. I also used a blend of 6 oz of plain greek yogurt and 6oz coconut milk. Don't forget the lemon juice!! I didn't have to add any salt and it turned out to be perfect. It only took about 25 minutes to prepare and cook everything. It sounds like a lot of work, but it really isn't! and as long as you have a bunch of spices already in your cabinet, you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Good even without the kaffir lime leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I played around with the amounts to make it easier for me. I had a 5oz can of the curry paste and used about half (stored the rest in airtight container for next use) and just 1 whole can of light coconut milk. Like the "old dude at the Asian market" said, I sauteed 2 cloves garlic in oil, added paste, added about 1 lb. thighs, 2 diced celery stalks, 1 T. brown sugar, 1 T. fish sauce, skipped the kaffir lime leaves n chilies, did add handful snow peas. Didn't have any basil but next time will not be so lazy. Loved over jasmine rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Single ladies serve with a warning....bring knee pads and ring! Absolutely, a delicious meal! Feel free to add lightly steamed broccoli too. Sorry Thai Pavillion, I'll be serving this one at HOME & saving my $$$ :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Made this for a crowd and everyone loved it! Very mild, and sooo tasty! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 767

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
great variation on your typical curry recipe. Although I hate it when people rate a recipe then change it a million ways, I highly recommend cooking the curry paste, chicken, adding some garlic and freshly minced ginger together before adding the coconut milk. Also nice to add some thinly sliced red peppers near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I'm pretty critical of some of the reviews on this site, but I thought I'd try this one out anyway. Took the previous review from "Duckman" and made it just how he said, with the exception of using lime zest and a squirt of lime juice in place of the leaves that I couldn't find ANYWHERE and a few minor adjustments mentioned later in this review. This turn out VERY well. I consider myself an above average chef, and I make some pretty delicious gourmet stuff - This recipe does not disappoint! It's surprisingly easier than it sounds, especially if you do veggie/chicken prep before you start. I also added sliced red bell pepper and used light coconut milk - the extra water required a lot more simmering - like 15 minutes more - but the wait was soooo worth it. Will definitely be making again! Thank you so much for posting, and thank you for your comments too, Duckman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moose's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Phenomenal recipe! Whole Foods had everything I needed. I added fresh green beans and sliced fresh red and orange bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Sharma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States