Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This delicious and taste similar to the curry at our favorite restaurant. Took suggestions of other reviewers and added garlic to the oil. I used one can coconut milk, 1 can coconut cream. Used brown sugar instead of palm; added many veggies - red peppers, yellow peppers and ton of zucchini. Used brown rice. Did not use the red chile peppers or Thai Basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Dead on chicken panang! Identical to restaurant versions. LOVE this recipe. Used splenda instead of sugar; couldn't find lime leaves, but between the curry paste and fish sauce that pretty much covered it. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This is so great to be able to prepare a thai dish at home! I love veggies so I added mushrooms, zucchini and broccoli to the dish also. I could not find Kaffir leaves but it still turned out great. If you can't find Panang paste the Red Curry paste also works out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foxy_girl04
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I loved this recipe!! I doubled the recipe to feed 3 hungry teenagers and have some leftovers. Everyone had seconds!!! I think the recipe calls for too much coconut milk. When I doubled the recipe it called for 8 cups of coconut milk I put in 7 cups and the dish was still a little to saucy. I also put half a red and green peppers, a half can of bamboo shoots (love those). In the dish would not have suffered from even more veggies. My advice put whatever veggies you like into the dish and you will love the end result. Please enjoy this is an easy and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxy_girl04
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Had a hard time finding Panang curry paste so went with red Thai curry paste from the grocery store, same amount as recipe states. Very good, mild curry flavor - the coconut milk is a good balance to the spice of the curry. Next time I'll be trying it with tofu and throwing some veggies in! Not hard to make at all and makes plenty for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Can't believe no one has suggested this so far... add 1 tbsp of peanut butter, and a small handful of roasted peanuts. The crunchy texture takes this dish to the next level. Also, sliced peppers (green & red), and onion are a must, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Like someone already mentioned, cook the curry powder in oil, first. Then add the onions and cook until caramelized. Finally add the rest of the spices, stewed tomatoes, etc., one by one. I added pre-seasoned rotisserie chicken instead of plain. I also used a blend of 6 oz of plain greek yogurt and 6oz coconut milk. Don't forget the lemon juice!! I didn't have to add any salt and it turned out to be perfect. It only took about 25 minutes to prepare and cook everything. It sounds like a lot of work, but it really isn't! and as long as you have a bunch of spices already in your cabinet, you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Good even without the kaffir lime leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I played around with the amounts to make it easier for me. I had a 5oz can of the curry paste and used about half (stored the rest in airtight container for next use) and just 1 whole can of light coconut milk. Like the "old dude at the Asian market" said, I sauteed 2 cloves garlic in oil, added paste, added about 1 lb. thighs, 2 diced celery stalks, 1 T. brown sugar, 1 T. fish sauce, skipped the kaffir lime leaves n chilies, did add handful snow peas. Didn't have any basil but next time will not be so lazy. Loved over jasmine rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States