Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by clechang
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very easy and delicious dish! I used the whole 4 oz can of Mae Sri Panang Curry paste and fried it in oil with some crushed garlic like another user mentioned. I used 2 cans of coconut milk and added slices of red bell pepper at the same time I added the chicken. I also only needed to use 1 Tb of fish sauce. I also could not find kaffir lime leaves, so I used 4 bay leaves, lime zest, and a little squeeze from half a lime. Will have to try this again if I ever find kaffir lime leaves to see if it tastes any different. Husband loved it, which makes me happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I used a serrano pepper (chopped up) instead of red peppers, turbino surgar, half light half full coconut milk, no lime leaves, basil chopped, red curry paste with 1/2 tsp each of curry powder, grnd corriander and grnd cumin since I did not have panagn curry powder. It was easy and yummy. I added aspeagus too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Love this recipe for Panang Curry with Chicken! Even my 11, 8, & 4 year olds love this (I hold off on adding the red chili peppers until I have served them) Such a great Thai recipe to make at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngPayne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Smiths, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This was super quick and easy to make! I used red thai curry paste because I couldn't find panang paste, and I used lime juice, lime zest and bay leaf because I couldn't find keffir leaves. Next time I will go to the asian market for those items. The recipe with the substitutions was still amazing! I added some spinach and bell peppers to make it a complete one pot meal. Served with jasmine rice. Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've made this dish before with a few variations, usually changing it slightly everytime I make it. You can find a variety of pastes (comes in a small can) in Asian grocery stores, the one I have is quite spicy. You can brown the chicken before adding it to the sauce if you like instead of poaching it in the sauce. I usually like to cook my chicken first, then add it to the curry and coconut milk mixture and let it simmer for an hour or so while I do other stuff. This tenderizes the chicken more and allows it to absorb the sauce. I also like to use chicken thigh instead of breast. I usually add some onions, garlic, bell pepper, carrot, bamboo shoots, napa cabbage, and sometimes potato, avocado, or taro. You can pretty much add anything. If you decide to add carrot, I recommend either cooking the carrots well first or letting it stew in the sauce for a long time, otherwise it will be very hard and crunchy which I do not find texturally pleasant for this dish. I would add the vegetables halfway through, maybe give it at least 30 minutes to stew in the sauce unless you like it very crunchy. I did not add the leaves or basil and it tasted just fine. I used regular sugar instead of palm and use coconut cream to thicken the sauce or make more of it as we like to mix it with the rice. You can add jalapenos or a finely diced habanero to add more heat to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Outstanding and easy. Made for 18 mo old 8 yr old and the husband. Used red curry paste and used 1/2 amount suggested to tone down for the kids. No spice but fine tasting to appeal to everyone. Will add this to our favorite meal list. Had with thai jasmine rice and a garden fresh salad and everyone was stuffed. Also note: used dried spices and it was fine- no other alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was really good overall! We tried it the first time with the exact amounts but it needed more curry paste. It gave it way more flavor. I would suggest 2-3 more tablespoons to make 8 tablespoon (or 1/2 cup). I just used to standard cans of coconut milk and added 3 tablespoons of sugar. I also put in bamboo shoots, broccoli, carrots, onions, garlic, and napa cabbage. (That makes a enough for 8 people, its a lot!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BECCA22
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
WHOA this is good!!! We polished this off like it might be our last meal! We used shrimp instead of chicken, brown sugar (instead of palm sugar) b/c we had it, and added some basil while simmering, in addition to the garnish. Next time we'll try lite coconut milk to make it a tad healthier. Followed the instructions exactly and loved every drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Altitude spicy for my family but I love it. I'll just use less of the curry paste for them and make my own batch. Plenty of sauce left over to put over rice for another meal or two. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Taste just like the Panang Curry at my favorite Thai Restaurant! I added cayenne pepper to make it spicy, some cornstarch to make it thicker, and substituted brown sugar for palm sugar and bay leaves for Kaffir lime leaves. Super easy to make and very tasty!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States