Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've made this dish before with a few variations, usually changing it slightly everytime I make it. You can find a variety of pastes (comes in a small can) in Asian grocery stores, the one I have is quite spicy. You can brown the chicken before adding it to the sauce if you like instead of poaching it in the sauce. I usually like to cook my chicken first, then add it to the curry and coconut milk mixture and let it simmer for an hour or so while I do other stuff. This tenderizes the chicken more and allows it to absorb the sauce. I also like to use chicken thigh instead of breast. I usually add some onions, garlic, bell pepper, carrot, bamboo shoots, napa cabbage, and sometimes potato, avocado, or taro. You can pretty much add anything. If you decide to add carrot, I recommend either cooking the carrots well first or letting it stew in the sauce for a long time, otherwise it will be very hard and crunchy which I do not find texturally pleasant for this dish. I would add the vegetables halfway through, maybe give it at least 30 minutes to stew in the sauce unless you like it very crunchy. I did not add the leaves or basil and it tasted just fine. I used regular sugar instead of palm and use coconut cream to thicken the sauce or make more of it as we like to mix it with the rice. You can add jalapenos or a finely diced habanero to add more heat to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Outstanding and easy. Made for 18 mo old 8 yr old and the husband. Used red curry paste and used 1/2 amount suggested to tone down for the kids. No spice but fine tasting to appeal to everyone. Will add this to our favorite meal list. Had with thai jasmine rice and a garden fresh salad and everyone was stuffed. Also note: used dried spices and it was fine- no other alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westbrook, Maine, USA
Living In: Hiram, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This was really good overall! We tried it the first time with the exact amounts but it needed more curry paste. It gave it way more flavor. I would suggest 2-3 more tablespoons to make 8 tablespoon (or 1/2 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BECCA22
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
WHOA this is good!!! We polished this off like it might be our last meal! We used shrimp instead of chicken, brown sugar (instead of palm sugar) b/c we had it, and added some basil while simmering, in addition to the garnish. Next time we'll try lite coconut milk to make it a tad healthier. Followed the instructions exactly and loved every drop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Altitude spicy for my family but I love it. I'll just use less of the curry paste for them and make my own batch. Plenty of sauce left over to put over rice for another meal or two. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Taste just like the Panang Curry at my favorite Thai Restaurant! I added cayenne pepper to make it spicy, some cornstarch to make it thicker, and substituted brown sugar for palm sugar and bay leaves for Kaffir lime leaves. Super easy to make and very tasty!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was very good, but unfortunately I can't rate the recipe as it was written. I went to an Asian market and still couldn't find the Kaffir lime leaves. I've read on the internet that they can no longer be imported and the grocer I went to didn't have any frozen. I used the zest from one whole lime and added a bay leaf to substitute. I thought it was very delicious! Maybe a little too spicy for my kids, but I thought the spice was just right. Had a good kick but not hard to eat from being too spicy. Of course that probably varies depending on the brand of curry paste you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was very good, however the curry paste I could find was a bit too spicy for two of my kids. Frankly, it was a bit too much for me, too. If I can find a milder curry paste, we will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This was great! I used lime zest and juice instead of kaffir leaves and brown sugar for palm sugar. I was afraid it wasn't going to taste like at the restaurant but once the fish sauce went it it was just the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Wow, what a really simple and tasty recipe.Had some leftover coconut milk and chicken in the fridge and thought i'd give this a try Used brown sugar and a squeeze of lime juice as i didn't have palm sugar or lime leaves and plain old basil for the garnish. Will make this recipe again and not just with leftovers. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States