Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Love it! it is really simple and easy to make. I steam my chicken before adding to the recipe. I good this recipe twice in a week because it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wafa Hussein
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I precooked my chicken strips in the oven before tossing them in. I sprinkled them with salt and spread red curry paste before baking uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This was great! I used lime zest instead of kaffir lime leaves and added a teaspoon of natural peanutbutter to help thicken just a bit. Better than many Thai restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PFEFFS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Tremendous results with this recipe. I did substitute like other folks. Ultimately, patience and allowing for the simmer made all the difference. JS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremy Snowden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I make this all the time. I add xanthum gum to thicken the sauce and I add broccoli. When it sits in the fridge for a day or two, usually as a leftover, I add any meat to it and create another meal.My husband and I have eaten at many Thai restaurants and this recipe reminds us of the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
So delicious! I made it in my new electronic pressure cooker and it came out fantastic. I started with 4 frozen half chicken breasts that I partially thawed in water (with a little salt) until I was able to slice them in even chunks. I then sautéed onion, garlic, curry paste, kaffir lime leaves, and grated ginger in oil right in the pressure cooker. I then added the cubes of partially thawed chicken, the fish sauce, sugar, salt, pepper, some cumin, some coriander, gave it a good stir to ensure the chicken was coated, and finally added 1 can of chicken broth. I set the pressure cooker to manual, high pressure, and set the timer for 10 min. Once it was finished, I used the quick release to let the steam out and stirred in 2 cans of coconut milk. It smells and tastes amazing! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
great recipe. followed all ingredients exactly, added 2 tbsp of peanut butter, lime zest since i had no lime leaves. incidentally the ingredients list on the curry paste includes kaffir lime leaves, so.. its still technically in there. added a bell pepper and fresh green beans. simmered for about a half hour.. used 1.1 lb of chicken and could use more. next time at least 1.5 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I know, I know, I'm rating a recipe that I had to make substitutions to...however, here's my two cents: Great recipe! My husband eats Thai restaurant food and approved so that's a winner in my book. Based on other reviewers suggestions I did use a sprinkling of thyme and a bay leaf (added with the chicken to simmer) and some lime zest (one whole lime, added at the end) in place of the kaffir lime leaves (I don't wish to visit an Asian grocery store, just not enough time in the day for that). I could not locate any panang curry paste either, so again based on other reviewers' suggestions I used some red curry paste, and also based on another reviewer's apt suggestion I used only 3T to cut down the heat (and I could tell that was the right choice to make, and my kids were fine with it). I simply used brown sugar for palm sugar, straight substitution, and my cooking oil of choice was sesame oil. I used at least a pound of chicken, and frankly I had more sauce (it's pretty thin, and I used regular coconut milk even) than I needed for that amount of chicken. Another half a breast would've been just right (I'd used two large breasts). I did use the fish sauce as written, despite it smelling like dead fish (and the whole dish smelled like feet, but the taste was not fishy or dead at all). I didn't have Thai basil leaves so I just didn't use anything there, nor did I use any fresh red chile peppers (no need for more heat here). 3C cooked Jasmine rice, 4C would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
It was a pretty good recipe, however what is calls for coconut milk is waaaaaay too much. I ended up using 3.4 cups instead of 4, and it still made it too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This recipe is great but make sure you do not make it with LIGHT coconut milk. I bought that by accident and the sauce never got thick. I made it again and used the full fat version and it came out perfectly. I make it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States