Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is the closest thing to restaurant quality I've found! I throw in sliced red bell pepper toward the end. love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
So delicious! I made it in my new electronic pressure cooker and it came out fantastic. I started with 4 frozen half chicken breasts that I partially thawed in water (with a little salt) until I was able to slice them in even chunks. I then sautéed onion, garlic, curry paste, kaffir lime leaves, and grated ginger in oil right in the pressure cooker. I then added the cubes of partially thawed chicken, the fish sauce, sugar, salt, pepper, some cumin, some coriander, gave it a good stir to ensure the chicken was coated, and finally added 1 can of chicken broth. I set the pressure cooker to manual, high pressure, and set the timer for 10 min. Once it was finished, I used the quick release to let the steam out and stirred in 2 cans of coconut milk. It smells and tastes amazing! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
great recipe. followed all ingredients exactly, added 2 tbsp of peanut butter, lime zest since i had no lime leaves. incidentally the ingredients list on the curry paste includes kaffir lime leaves, so.. its still technically in there. added a bell pepper and fresh green beans. simmered for about a half hour.. used 1.1 lb of chicken and could use more. next time at least 1.5 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I know, I know, I'm rating a recipe that I had to make substitutions to...however, here's my two cents: Great recipe! My husband eats Thai restaurant food and approved so that's a winner in my book. Based on other reviewers suggestions I did use a sprinkling of thyme and a bay leaf (added with the chicken to simmer) and some lime zest (one whole lime, added at the end) in place of the kaffir lime leaves (I don't wish to visit an Asian grocery store, just not enough time in the day for that). I could not locate any panang curry paste either, so again based on other reviewers' suggestions I used some red curry paste, and also based on another reviewer's apt suggestion I used only 3T to cut down the heat (and I could tell that was the right choice to make, and my kids were fine with it). I simply used brown sugar for palm sugar, straight substitution, and my cooking oil of choice was sesame oil. I used at least a pound of chicken, and frankly I had more sauce (it's pretty thin, and I used regular coconut milk even) than I needed for that amount of chicken. Another half a breast would've been just right (I'd used two large breasts). I did use the fish sauce as written, despite it smelling like dead fish (and the whole dish smelled like feet, but the taste was not fishy or dead at all). I didn't have Thai basil leaves so I just didn't use anything there, nor did I use any fresh red chile peppers (no need for more heat here). 3C cooked Jasmine rice, 4C would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
It was a pretty good recipe, however what is calls for coconut milk is waaaaaay too much. I ended up using 3.4 cups instead of 4, and it still made it too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This recipe is great but make sure you do not make it with LIGHT coconut milk. I bought that by accident and the sauce never got thick. I made it again and used the full fat version and it came out perfectly. I make it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
First time trying Panang and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I made my first dish following the directions of the recipe (+ garlic), which turned out good. Today I made it the 2nd time following the direction of duckman (2/22/14) using a lite coconut milk that was 58% less fat. Well, I would not recommend using a lighter version of the coconut milk. it. The taste was good, but the texture of the coconut milk was very gluey and I couldn't get over the way it felt in my mouth. Use regular coconut milk. It's worth the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I have made this dish many times and could never find the lime leaves so I substituted with lime zest and it works great. The most important part is balancing the fish sauce with the palm sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Followed the directions except omitted the thai basil leaves and kaffir lime leaves because I didn't have them. I also added zucchini and red bell peppers towards the end. Turned out just as yummy as my favorite thai restaurant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States