Panang Curry with Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I know, I know, I'm rating a recipe that I had to make substitutions to...however, here's my two cents: Great recipe! My husband eats Thai restaurant food and approved so that's a winner in my book. Based on other reviewers suggestions I did use a sprinkling of thyme and a bay leaf (added with the chicken to simmer) and some lime zest (one whole lime, added at the end) in place of the kaffir lime leaves (I don't wish to visit an Asian grocery store, just not enough time in the day for that). I could not locate any panang curry paste either, so again based on other reviewers' suggestions I used some red curry paste, and also based on another reviewer's apt suggestion I used only 3T to cut down the heat (and I could tell that was the right choice to make, and my kids were fine with it). I simply used brown sugar for palm sugar, straight substitution, and my cooking oil of choice was sesame oil. I used at least a pound of chicken, and frankly I had more sauce (it's pretty thin, and I used regular coconut milk even) than I needed for that amount of chicken. Another half a breast would've been just right (I'd used two large breasts). I did use the fish sauce as written, despite it smelling like dead fish (and the whole dish smelled like feet, but the taste was not fishy or dead at all). I didn't have Thai basil leaves so I just didn't use anything there, nor did I use any fresh red chile peppers (no need for more heat here). 3C cooked Jasmine rice, 4C would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
It was a pretty good recipe, however what is calls for coconut milk is waaaaaay too much. I ended up using 3.4 cups instead of 4, and it still made it too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This recipe is great but make sure you do not make it with LIGHT coconut milk. I bought that by accident and the sauce never got thick. I made it again and used the full fat version and it came out perfectly. I make it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
First time trying Panang and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I made my first dish following the directions of the recipe (+ garlic), which turned out good. Today I made it the 2nd time following the direction of duckman (2/22/14) using a lite coconut milk that was 58% less fat. Well, I would not recommend using a lighter version of the coconut milk. it. The taste was good, but the texture of the coconut milk was very gluey and I couldn't get over the way it felt in my mouth. Use regular coconut milk. It's worth the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I have made this dish many times and could never find the lime leaves so I substituted with lime zest and it works great. The most important part is balancing the fish sauce with the palm sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Followed the directions except omitted the thai basil leaves and kaffir lime leaves because I didn't have them. I also added zucchini and red bell peppers towards the end. Turned out just as yummy as my favorite thai restaurant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This dish is amazing. However, the amount of chicken it calls for is too little. With 4 cups of milk, the chicken was lost in it. I doubled the chicken so therefore had to add in a little bit more of all the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
I was so looking forward to this! Unfortunately, I literally had too many pots on the fire & 'over browned' the curry paste a bit before I got the coconut milk in. :( It was still good - just not as delicate tasting as I expected. Also, the band of paste I used was a tad too hot... Great with rice :) Thanks, Wiley :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is a really good recipe! It is better than what I've had at some Thai restaurants and my 11yr son, who has been asking for Panang Curry, approves with a big thumbs up. I did not tweak the recipe at all. I was able to find all the ingredients and even googled the 'best panang curry paste'. The result was a curry paste from "Mae Ploy". I don't know how easy it is to find that particular paste in some areas, but where I live, we have lots of diversity so finding a Thai grocery store wasn't hard(Amazon.com also sells this and has great reviews). Finding the right paste is important. I also used the coconut milk from Mae Ploy as well. I was shocked when i opened the can because all the cream was at the top and it looked and felt like frosting. It took some stirring to mix it with the liquid on the bottom. The result was the thickest creamiest coconut milk I have ever seen. No comparison to the Orchid brand or the common supermarket brands I've bought in the past. The resulting curry was so nice and thicker than usual and absolutely delicious. I went out of my way to find the right ingredients including palm sugar. The grocery's owner said that a lot of Thai dishes use this because it's not as sweet as regular sugar but adds a subtle sweetness. Four cups of coconut milk make A LOT. Next time I would like to add some veggies, but I won't boil them in the sauce as it might add unnecessary water. Instead, I'm going to sautee them separately and add at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Panang Curry with Chicken

See how to make authentic southern Thai-style chicken curry.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States