Pan-Seared Tuna with Olive-Wine Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Gourmet flavor with simple prep—my favorite kind of meal. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added a few more olives and used olive oil instead of cooking spray. The sauce was very tangy, but the bite was balanced by the velvety texture of the rare tuna (definitely go with rare--you won’t get the same flavor and texture if it’s well-done; I seared a thick steak for about 2 min per side). The sauce tasted pretty strong before I reduced it, but it mellowed out after simmering for 5 min. I’m not a fan of couscous, so I served this with the Mediterranean Greek Salad from this site, and it was a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
The sauce tasted kind of wierd with the Olives, and did not reduce very well after the 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
If you like tuna and olives, I think you would like this. If you don't, why would you try?! Couscous by itself can be bland and dry for me, so I mixed in vegetables that I roasted with a little garlic and rosemary. Adds vitamins, too. Although if I were to make this again, (hubby wants me to) I think I would rather pair it with a good green salad and some crispy roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
The tuna was very flavorful. The fennel was subtle but totally MADE this dish. I only had a dry red wine on hand but it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I did not like this one bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is a very interesting and taste-filled dish. I highly recommend this to someone who likes something different, or medeterranian food. A caveat: it is a bit time consuming to prepare, but very worth it. If you are having a dinner party, this dish is sure to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
My wife really loved this recipe. (I am not sure if she was just being sweet because I cooked two recipes from here two nights in a row.) The sauce was excellent but if I make this again, I will reduce the time on the tuna a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
This is a very impressive dish that tastes gourmet, but is fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
This dish was good, but if I make it again I'll probably play around with the ingredients. The olives and the lemon juice made it quite tart -- I might halve the lemon juice and maybe try adding some sugar. The "pan-seared" made me think it would be rare inside, but if you cook according to directions it's done or a little overdone throughout. I probably will try making it again, because I did like the olive-wine sauce. With preparation time (and I'm a pretty slow preparer), it took a little over an hour to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
Fantastic! I was a little apprehensive about the green olives, but the wine, olives and garlic went very well together. I used frozen albacore tuna steaks and there was no fishy taste at all and the sauce was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States