Pan-Seared Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I have been cooking tilapia all wrong. This is the basic and perfect method. The fish was cooked correctly, flaky and the light crust was delicious. Thank you, Applechef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I am not a big fan of fish. I am REALLY not a fan of white fish but this recipe was wonderful!!! I used Orange Roughy bc my grocery did not have tilapia, I used Avocado oil in place of olive oil and had to cook the fish twice as long bc my fillets were twice as big but otherwise I followed the recipe to the T and it was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by desssy
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Amazing. Not to many steps not messy and cooks fast. Looked like the picture. Tasted great I like the substitution of regular oil with olive oil. Made it for my girlfriend and family they loved it. I also added some nature's seasonings . I don't think you could go wrong with this dish . I will say make sure you don't over Cook the fish.. but this was delicious and very moist not dried out full of flavor and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is my favorite way to make fish - so quick and easy. One thing I do differently is to begin with 1 T each olive oil and butter, then I don't add any additional butter. Like others have mentioned, I generally use a cajun or similar seasoning mixture instead of plain salt and pepper. Finally, I like to accompany this with sauteed spinach. I remove the fish from the skillet and cover to keep warm, then give the skillet a quick wipe down with a paper towel only if it looks too browned. I add additional olive oil & butter, garlic, and fresh spinach, then cook for a couple of minutes, stirring occasionally. The spinach cooks down in about 2 minutes - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Quick, easy and delicious. Based on some previous reviews, I added some blackened old bay in addition to the salt and pepper. Looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
My end result didn't look nice and golden like the picture. It seems that 4 minutes was too long in my cast iron skillet on medium high heat (fish burned). Taste-wise, I found it just ok even adding a few of the recommended seasonings from other reviews. I do think that the fish would've been bland had I only used salt and pepper according to review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I loved this recipe. It was divine. I think it was good just like it was. Mine didn't come out as blackened as the picture but it was just enough crisp and I used salted margarine instead of unsalted butter. I just didn't salt the fish when I put the pepper on. It still was good. I am happy how it came out and I am mot even the cooking type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I'm on a tight budget and after springing for the Tilapia fillets, I skipped the olive oil and settled for Canola oil and a pat of butter for each pan of fish I fried. I used the seas salt and the pepper, but I didn't use the lemon. A bit too zesty for my taste. Instead, I lightly sprinkled the skillet/pan with Lawry's course ground garlic w/parsley and for each side of each fillet, lightly sprinkled with Mrs. Dash. Was very happy with the results and served it with my own cole slaw. The hubs loved it, and I foundered. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
It was a little dry perhaps should have covered and cooked a little less time, taste was OK, butter helped and lemon, I would try again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Easy and yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States