Pan-Seared Scallops with Pepper and Onions in Anchovy Oil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Yummy! Cooked veggie mix first,transferred to bowl, seared scallops then added veggies to reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
The taste was good but so greasy. If I make this again it will be without 1/3 cup of oil and no anchovies, which add to the oil. I like anchovies but not in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
The anchovy was too much for my liking..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Very tasty but a bit too much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Awesome...anchovy really brings this together. I made this a while ago and my wife and I loved it. She made it for me several weeks later, tho her version was a little salty. I don't think she realized the anchovies were as salty as they were. Bottom line: Salt control is important, but still super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MattyHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This has become one of my fiancee's fav dishes. Don't oversalt the scallops, and consider serving with a flavorful wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Jay Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TKP
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Delicious! My husband and I love anchovy and this recipe is awesome. Although we cut the ingredients by half since we were making for two we used the whole can of anchovy. It was perfect for us. Love this recipe and will definitely make it again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Needs refining - less olive oil, sear scallops on both sides, and cook veg separately. Otherwise excellent. BUT - what is 'minced lime zest' and 'minced lemon zest'? Zest is grated lemon/lime rind, so how do you 'mince' it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
The flavor combinations are very good. I used 1 tbsp of fresh lemon juice rather than zest. I think one of two variations on this work best: 1. cook the pepper mixture separately and bring the mixture together with the scallops near the end of cooking or 2. cook everything according to the recipe, but add some of your favorite wine and reduce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I poured the can of Anchovy fillets in oil to a large cast iron pan, mashed with fork and omitted the extra oil. This is quick, tasty and looks great on the plate. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States