Pan-Seared Scallops with Pepper and Onions in Anchovy Oil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Rodney Douglas
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I followed the reviewer’s recommendations and reduced the oil to ¼ cup, but I also drained the Anchovies (fillet in olive oil and salt) into the skillet. So I ended up with a bit more than ¼ cup and a bit less than 1/3 cup. I browned the Scallops on both sides then removed them to a bowl and then put in the veggies. I was hesitant about the onions and the peppers going in at the same time since onions usually take longer to cook, but the oil really evened it out. We had lemon wedges in a servers bowl for those who liked it more lemony. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rodney Douglas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Decreased the olive oil and cooked the veggies first. I love anchovies and I could definitely taste the anchovies in this recipe. I will make this again but you really need to cook the veggies first and decrease the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Delicious! used bacon instead of anchovies as none on hand. Also used lemon juice and lime juice instead of zest. This is a very nice dish; will try with anchovies next time & searing veggies separately from scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Really tasty! My kids never even knew there were anchovies in there. I agree that the peppers & onions should be cooked first & set aside, the scallops cooked next, then recombined. I served over thin wheat spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
We loved this dish. I also cooked the vegies first. It is very important not to over cook the scallops. They only need to be seared 3 to 4 minutes. Lovely flavors in he recipe. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Restaurant quality! I followed the advice of a few others and sauteed my vegetables in olive oil first and then removed them from the pan. Then I added the anchovies in the oil and cooked them down, then cooked the scallops so they could brown. Then I added the cooked vegetables (so the scallops didn't overcook). I served them with Rachel Ray's recipe for Lemon Spaghetti and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Great! I made this exactly as written. The anchovy oil and citrus work beautifully with the scallops and veggies. As another reviewer mentioned, you may want to sear your scallops on both sides before adding the vegetables. Mine turned out nicely browned on one side, and sauteed on the other - which was fine. I tossed them with little linguine and chopped parsley. Nice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I made this for Father's Day and we loved it. I did not have the anchovy or the yellow/orange pepper, but it still turned out great. I also increased the cooking time since the scallops I had were just huge. I served it with sauted spinach and rice pilaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I'm still reeling from how absolutely delicious this dish was! We prepared it just as written, and it was fantastic - I was leary of the anchovies but they deepened the flavor without overpowering the scallops at all. The one issue we had with the recipe is that if prepared as written, the scallops are not necessarily seared on both sides because the water from the peppers prevents the browning of the second side. Next time we might try searing both sides before adding the peppers, maybe even removing the scallops once cooked and then adding the pepper mixture, then mixing it all together at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This was a very unique recipe, that turned out great! I also put over angel hair with Olive Oil. Next time I would add a little heat or spice. Maybe a little red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States