Pan Seared Salmon I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This recipe was truly wonderful. The only change was for my extra thick salmon filets. I used 2 large filets and seared as directed in my cast iron dutch oven. I then transferred it to a 450 degree oven to complete the cooking. I also added the capers near the end instead of halfway through. The fish was truly wonderful. And to top it off, I seared some fresh green beans in the dutch oven for a couple minutes and then served those alongside. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Butcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Turned our amazing! I served it with a vegetable rice and a fattoush salad and came out perfect. The cooking times are just right
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha R

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This salmon was to die for. I added some lemon juice after cooking and it was a hit. The skin was nice and crispy and the meat was buttery and soft. Although I also like baked salmon, this is definitely my go-to method for making salmon from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I live in Alaska, so my husband just brought some King Salmon home from fishing and I made this. Sooo tasty, delicious, yummy. I didn't have capers on hand, so I put a little garlic olive oil in towards the end of cooking. I used my Grandma's cast iron skillet and it was perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
A little too crusty on the outside for me, and I did feel that it was a bit better with some extra seasoning (rosemary and garlic - nearly burned the garlic), but it was a great starting recipe. I kept the heat on medium high, and removed the thinner portion at the recommended time. I then covered the thicker piece and cooked an extra minute. Delicious - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shawnchittle
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I live in Manhattan and I don't normally cook. I bought all new cookware and headed to this site to try my frist recipe. Uh, what? I followed these instructions to the letter. What kind of stoves are they using? Portable camping ones? I have a normal apartment gas stove. OK 3 minutes on medium heat. Into the pan goes the the salmon with the olive oil. WHOOSH! it sent huge plumes of smoke all throughout the apartment. It looked like the place was on fire. I almost called the whole thing off, but kept going. And after just 2 minutes on so-called "high-heat" the so-called "stainless stell" pan (brand new) was ruined. It's been several hours and smoke still hasn't subsided. Don't use medium or high heat with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Perfect! Didn't need the full 5 minutes on the second side depending on the thickness of my filet. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
No lemons, but still good! I added garlic powder also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Quick, easy, tasty... I sprinkled salt, peper and Cayenne peper before oil. Used regular skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
A basic, simple way of preparing salmon that's fool-proof. Omitting the capers doesn't hurt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States