Pan-Seared Duck Breast with Blueberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Made it tonight and it was very good. The Sauce did not thicken even though I kept it on low for 45 minutes. Still good though. Looking for suggestion on how to get that syrup consistency. The pancetta I had did not produce much fat/oil so I sliced off some of the fat from the duck breast. I used the Hudson valley Foie Gras duck breasts and made a crisscross pattern in them to help render more of the fat. I use a cast iron skillet as well and put it on the grill to keep the mess as a minimum. No butter or oil in the skillet as the duck breast renders about 2/3 cup of oil. Can you say French fries! The potatoes were good, but I think some fingerlings would be more elegant. 08 A to Z Pinot linked up very well. I also used 1/3 cup of chicken stock when I put the Baby Bok choy in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Only used the the parts for the duck seasoning and the sauce. In the sauce I used strawberry wine instead of apple juice. This was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Fantastic dish. Served on top of mashed potatoes. Great presentation but a little dark in colour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great tasting dish since duck usually gets a bad rap. I will make it again and again. The only problem I had was that the blueberry sauce did not thicken up even when I tried thickener...but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Amazing! I despise bok choy, but got some in our CSA box. The bok choy/veggies came out phenomenal, so good I'd eat it plain. Everything else was awesome, and the different foods all tasted so good together. I cannot wait to make this again. Oh, a couple FYI's: used bacon, which I think was the secret to the yummy veggies, and I have a ton of blueberry sauce left over. Wish I'd halved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was really spectacular! We had to change some ingredients to what was available but it was still amazing! DH said it's one of the best meals I've ever cooked! We halved the sauce and still had enough for 4 more servings. This was so great, we can't wait to invite people over just so we can make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Made it exactly for Christmas dinner and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Davidsonville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
good all around idea, i added cream then butter at the end to turn it into a bluberry cream sauce, also the breasts are way over done at that temperature you want them to be more a med-rare to medium its game not poultry so there is no risk of salmonella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
this was great!!the blueberrys and tyme blend with the duck!ymm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mr.fix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Dave Lilly
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Seriously delicious! I had a similar dish at a local gem of a restaurant and later found this on here. I must say this sauce was even better than the expensive (but worth it) restaurant! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Duck Breast and Puree

Learn how to make a dish served with orange-spiced leek and sweet-potato puree.

Pastrami-Spiced Duck Breast Reuben

Duck breasts get the pastrami-spice treatment in this main-dish "reuben."

Rack of Lamb with Blueberry Sauce

Roasted lamb served with an easy blueberry, red wine, and butter pan sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States