Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I felt like a real chef with this one. The chicken was golden and beautiful.The shallots, wine, and some mushrooms were all a great combination of flavors! Made with mashed baby confetti potatoes and sugar snap peas tosed in olive oil with the rest of the shallots and some rosemary then baked for a couple of minutes. Gourmet meal in a half an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreaBren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This dish was really good!I used seasoned salt when browning in addition to the pepper. I also added fresh mushrooms and extra garlic.Used Chicken Flavored Better than Boullion instead of broth, and a Pinot Grigio for the wine. Served over Mini Penne. If I make it again, I would double the sauce. Thanks, Amy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
First know that I rarely follow a recipe exactly..I didn't pound the breasts thin. I like a more plump and juicey breast. I also added fresh mushrooms and thickened the wine sauce a bit after the breasts were done. VERY TASTEY!! We loved it! Thanks Amy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I've been traveling for nearly two weeks and have only two days before I take off again. After days of restaurant meals I was in the mood for a quick, good, home-cooked dinner but I wasn't about to go grocery shopping. This chicken dish was just what I needed. It contained ingredients I always have on hand. I love the simplicity of not just the preparation, but of the flavors. I don't need lots of bold seasoning to please my palate. A little wine, a little garlic and I'm happy. I said I wanted quick, so I butterflied the chicken breasts, which not only reduced the cooking time, but also ensured they cooked evenly. For good, golden color I dredged them in flour before I pan seared them. Served this with the simple and basic "Parsleyed Rice Pilaf" also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This was a big hit with my family! I had to modify this recipe by omitting the wine because my hubby and son despise anything cooked in wine. I used a full cup of chicken broth and added water to cut the saltiness. My family prefers thicker pieces of chicken so I didn't thin them and simmered everything together for the duration of cook time. I added some mushrooms and a heaping tbsp of flour to thicken the sauce and at the end, topped each chicken breast with a folded slice of havarti cheese and let some of it melt into the sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This recipe was great, and added mushrooms for texture and cornstarch to thicken the sauce, and seasoned the chicken with lemon pepper which gave it nice flavour. The sauce was outstanding, but I would double it next time because it reduces quickly, especially when you add the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Fabulous recipe! Relatively quick and very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out great. Next time I might use less butter to make it a little healthier. I think the sauce would still work with 1 tablespoon of butter and the chicken could be cooked in straight olive oil. Overall, though, a wonderful chic recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I am always looking for tasty, quick dinners. This meets the criteria. My husband works days & I work midnights. So when he leaves work he calls me to wake me up. I get up and cook dinner. By the time he gets home (1 hr) dinner is ready. This dinner was delicious. I think next time I'll double the liquid so there will be more of that delicious sauce! This recipe is definitley going into the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
My family prefers dark meat so I substituted chicken thighs and they were terrific...The only other change I made was that I added some grated onion to the chicken stock...and a little dijohn mustard to the sauce for a little zing...Adding mushrooms also is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This is not only delicious, but very quick to prepare. I have made this several times, and as others suggested, have traded off between white wine, marsala, and sherry.Try a touch of fresh basil, too. Its wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States