Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This was great. I also floured the chicken before cooking it and I added mushrooms to the sauce, as other reviewers recommended. I used only chicken broth since we didn't have any wine around, and it still came out great. The sauce was a little runny, and I wanted to add flour to thicken it up as others have suggested but I wasn't sure when to do this, so I didn't. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
pretty tasty and relatively easy - served with Rice-A-Roni and steamed broccoli
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Very good, just a bit bland. No leftovers so that says something! I did dredge the chicken breasts in flour, salt and pepper. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is a great versatile recipe! I cut each breast in half vertically to cook the chicken faster and sprinkled them liberally with flour before searing them. I didn't have shallot, so I used minced sweet yellow onion. I doubled the sauce and before returning the chicken to the pan, used the sauce to steam asparagus. I served over brown rice. It was delicious! I will be using this recipe again but will try adding mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was a delicious dish, dishwasher well with rice. rice . I LET my chicken simmer in the sauce covered for about 15 min. Before serving. Also, Plaintext time I am going to double the sauce. Nice job, job Amy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This is exactly what I do with firm white fish also. It's a great simple recipe. We like it with angel hair pasta. Ellie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
The sauce reminded me too much of a French onion soup. I only used the 2 shallots that the recipe called for. My husband liked it though and we served it over bow-tied pasta. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I've probably made over 3 dozen recipes from this website, yet this is the first I'm taking the time to review-- not so much because it was good (which it was!) but because it was exactly what I was looking for at the time. My fiancé and I had friends in town and we had been out to dinner (and drinks!) several nights in a row. I was looking for something quick, easy, and *kind of* healthy that I could basically make with ingredients on hand. This fit the bill perfectly! The chicken came out moist and delicious and the sauce is simple and tasty but not overpowering. I was actually surprised that my fiancé liked this as much as he did but he said some variation of "mmmmmm" with every bite! I made only a few small changes based on other reviews: added additional spices (lemon pepper, garlic power) to chicken, and added a 1/4 cup additional broth. Otherwise followed exactly and it was great. Thanks Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I didn't have white wine, so I used white vinegar (maybe 1/4 C). I also used onions instead of shallots because I didn't have shallots. We were fighting over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This is my first review on Allrecipes even though I've tried many recipes. I chose this recipe by using the ingredient search since I had chicken breasts and shallots on hand. I followed it exactly and it was an excellent dish. Served with mashed potatoes for the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States