Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
My parents loved it. I added mushrooms, doubled the sauce, sauteed the stuff in 2 tablespoons of oil and only used 2 tablespoons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I thought the recipe was very good. The real test was my husband. He is not a lover of chicken breast. He did like this because the breast was thin. So I can make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I didn't have shallots, so used leeks. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Princess Dork
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
very good recipe...i added fresh mushrooms with the garlic and shallots.... this made it a great recipe. i took others advice and dredged seasoned chicken in flour. it made it look and taste delish!!!! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
At the risk of repeating what others have posted, I too doubled the white wine and chicken broth. I also added 1 TB of corn starch to the broth which gave the sauce a great consistency. In an attempt to make this dish more healthy, I only used 1 TB of butter and a little olive oil while sauteeing the the chicken breasts. I served this with noodles and my husband loved it!!! Definitely a "keeper" - thanks for sharing Amy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamafalzone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wells, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Okay. I thought it tasted better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I think that I was expecting a lot more from this. I made this as written, because my husband hates mushrooms, but I think that it really needs the addition. I just couldn't get over the fact that it smelled like the preparations for my Thanksgiving dressing--melted butter, sweated shallots, chicken stock... The wine addition was good and the chicken cooked up beautiful and golden with the butter and EVOO, but it just wasn't enough for me to fall in love with. I would recommend following some of the others advice and add something to the sauce (mushrooms, capers, something) to give it more interest. Also, I doubled the sauce and thought that 4 shallots was too much. Double the liquid, not the shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
When I first tasted the sauce, I felt it was a little bland. I squeezed some fresh lemon juice in the sauce and that seemed to do the trick. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Very easy and very good! Taking others' advice, I doubled the sauce, thickened it a bit with corn starch, and added mushrooms. Husband couldn't get enough of it. Knowing that I still have some shallots and leftover chicken broth in the fridge, he asked if we could have it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Great meal! This was my first time using shallots and I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie A.
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States