Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was soooooooooooo good! This was definetly restaurant quality -I did add a few things to it though - first, I added a little more shallots than what the recipe called for - toward the end of the simmering of the shallots, garlic, wine and chicken broth, I added a small can of mushrooms (without the juice) and I added about a tablespoon of cornstarch to the liquid. (I put a little water in a glass and then the tablespoon of cornstarch, and mixed it well until it was all dissolved) After the cornstarch was added, it thickened up considerably. It was absolutely scrumptious and will be made again.......soon! This is a keeper - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefanie W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was very good. Cooking the chikcen with the lid on after browning made the meat nice and tender. I added extra garlic and the juice from one lemon, and it came out very much like a chicken piccata.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This is restaurant quality chicken! I paired it with roasted baby red potatoes & asparagus. We love this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
This was fabulous! I followed the advice of another reviewer and added celery and mushrooms 5 mins before the end. The crunchiness of the celery with the smooth mushrooms provided a new dimension to this recipe. I also thickened the sauce with a bit of cornstarch. I didn't have shallots and substituted a bit of finely chopped yellow onion. I would still consider it a very easy recipe, and good enough to use for a casual dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MotherLodeViv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colts Neck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
his recipes was great my husband liked it and the kids actually ate it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This was great and easy. We doubled the sauce and substituted green onions for the shallots and served with rice. We will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Helloooo;Where did the mushrooms in the picture come from? I liked the musrooms so added 1/2 lb sliced, also 2 stalks celery and a hand full uf halfed grape tomatoeslast 4 or 5 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed.Dolanski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Awesome recipe. Fun to make and even more fun to eat!! My husband as well as my girls all LOVE this recipe. I didn't change a thing. The shallots make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Preston, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Very good recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Came out great... chicken was fairly tender. I added 1/2 t of turmeric to the butter and olive oil to give the chicken a nice color and added a tiny bit of red pepper flakes to the shallots and garlic to give a touch of spice. Also added much more garlic. Served it with spiced cut okra (touch of cumin seeds, mustard seed, ground coriander, turmeric, salt and a little chili powder.) Also served with sauteed garlic with spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States