Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
It has good flavour although I found it a little too salty... perhaps there is no need to season the chicken breasts with salt before cooking it. Although I only used 1/4 tsp of kosher salt, the overall chicken seemed a tad too salty for me. But a very easy and tasty dish, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
A little dry for my taste, but my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I was really puzzled at first, because there are mushrooms in the picture, but not in the recipe! I must have read the recipe through half a dozen times. Then, I started looking through the reviews, because I really like mushrooms, and I was curious how other cooks had adapted the recipe. I FINALLY found a review that stated to add 8 oz. of sliced mushrooms, and boy, I'm glad I did! This is probably pretty good without mushrooms, but it's fabulous with them. We really enjoyed this, and I plan to make it again, with mushrooms! I may add a little fresh minced parsley, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Both very easy and delicious. Best of all, the cost of materials was very low. The tast of the sauce is just right, and I accented the flavor a bit by adding capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I agree with everyone else's reviews. Just made it last night and it was quick, easy, and delicious! I removed the breasts from the pan after browning, cooked up the garlic & red onion (didn't have shallots on hand) then thickened the sauce a bit. Put the chickens back in and cooked another minute. Came out perfect - no leftovers!!! Will definitely make this a staple dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Very tasty, juicy moist breast meat and yummy sauce that the whole family loved. I omitted the wine but added more broth and used a bit of corn starch like others have... delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klfelt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I've been traveling for nearly two weeks and have only two days before I take off again. After days of restaurant meals I was in the mood for a quick, good, home-cooked dinner but I wasn't about to go grocery shopping. This chicken dish was just what I needed. It contained ingredients I always have on hand. I love the simplicity of not just the preparation, but of the flavors. I don't need lots of bold seasoning to please my palate. A little wine, a little garlic and I'm happy. I said I wanted quick, so I butterflied the chicken breasts, which not only reduced the cooking time, but also ensured they cooked evenly. For good, golden color I dredged them in flour before I pan seared them. Served this with the simple and basic "Parsleyed Rice Pilaf" also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was the best meal I have cooked in a while. We forgot to cook the side with it but decided at the last minute to just boil some noodles. It turned out great! We used fresh basil, green onions, and mushrooms in the sauce. Since it was our first time cooking with wine, we cooked the sauce and chicken separate. I think the flavors were excellent compliments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Excellent! What more can I say? Such a simple chicken dish, yet so darn tasty! Even my picky eater loved it. Next time I make this I am going to use more shallots. They were wonderful! This is a dish I would gladly serve my guests any day! I can hardly wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This recipe was a huge hit with my entire family (who diverse taste are enough to drive any mom crazy)! I was looking for a simple chicken recipe to test out my new Emeril frying pan and this was perfect. I stayed true to the recipe for the most part, but added fresh mushrooms and fresh basic that i'd just bought from the farmer's market. I also tripled the sauce, because my fam is all about the sauces. The chicken turned out perfect - most and very juicy (i went extreme on the pounding). The sauce was the kicker. My kids and husband all wanted leftovers the next evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States