Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
I've been traveling for nearly two weeks and have only two days before I take off again. After days of restaurant meals I was in the mood for a quick, good, home-cooked dinner but I wasn't about to go grocery shopping. This chicken dish was just what I needed. It contained ingredients I always have on hand. I love the simplicity of not just the preparation, but of the flavors. I don't need lots of bold seasoning to please my palate. A little wine, a little garlic and I'm happy. I said I wanted quick, so I butterflied the chicken breasts, which not only reduced the cooking time, but also ensured they cooked evenly. For good, golden color I dredged them in flour before I pan seared them. Served this with the simple and basic "Parsleyed Rice Pilaf" also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was the best meal I have cooked in a while. We forgot to cook the side with it but decided at the last minute to just boil some noodles. It turned out great! We used fresh basil, green onions, and mushrooms in the sauce. Since it was our first time cooking with wine, we cooked the sauce and chicken separate. I think the flavors were excellent compliments!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Excellent! What more can I say? Such a simple chicken dish, yet so darn tasty! Even my picky eater loved it. Next time I make this I am going to use more shallots. They were wonderful! This is a dish I would gladly serve my guests any day! I can hardly wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This recipe was a huge hit with my entire family (who diverse taste are enough to drive any mom crazy)! I was looking for a simple chicken recipe to test out my new Emeril frying pan and this was perfect. I stayed true to the recipe for the most part, but added fresh mushrooms and fresh basic that i'd just bought from the farmer's market. I also tripled the sauce, because my fam is all about the sauces. The chicken turned out perfect - most and very juicy (i went extreme on the pounding). The sauce was the kicker. My kids and husband all wanted leftovers the next evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
At first I thought the chicken breasts would be a bit plain. I was wrong! The buttery sauce made the chicken perfect. I might have used a bit too much butter but nonetheless a great recipe for breasts. The pieces were juicy and tender. Great with rice. Going to be a regular in my household! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was quick and easy. I added some parsley flakes to give it some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Very good recipe. I always make extra sauce so I can pour it over rice and veggies as well. I don't know if it's because I made so much sauce, but it definitely wasn't going to reduce enough so I used cornstarch to thicken it. Also my chicken didn't take anywhere near 10 minutes to cook through, so I would check it often. I've already made this a couple times and we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I made a few adjustments/additions, but stayed true to the recipe overall. Adjusted the recipe for two. In addition to the listed ingredients, I used two cloves of garlic (left it in larger slices; after cooking for fifteen minutes, it's not bite-y enough to matter), about a Tbs and a half of fresh thyme, chopped, mushrooms, as someone else suggested. I also added a split leek in there. I was actually braising them to go with dinner as a side-dish, but I love the flavor so having them in with the other aromatics was perfect. I thought the sauce amount was good as it was, however after tasting it, I wanted it on everything, including my mashed potatoes. So next time I might double that. Lovely, flavorful, perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I've made this exactly as written as well as adding other herbs/spices. My favorite is pretty much as it is and served over rice with grillled or sauted asparagus. This is just such a wonderful receipe and you almost can't go wrong. I would definitely serve this if I were looking to impress without going crazy. My super picky fiancé asks for this dish often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I just made this and adjusted the recipe for 2. It worked out very well and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States