Pan-Roasted Halibut with Clamshell Mushrooms and Lemon Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
You can't go wrong with any recipe from Chef John. Recipe turned out great. My plate looked like restaurant quality (a fine one at that) and the taste was great and it was so simple to create! Will def use again maybe going with another reviewer's tip and using wine instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Made this last night for my family. Ingredients pretty easy to find although clamshell mushrooms very expensive, i used chanterelles and oyster varieties for 1/3 the price. recipe very easy to follow. everybody loved it! the sauce was excellent and very light. added this to my recipe box for sure. served with some simple sauteed snap peas and some fresh boule bread. this was an easy winner. would be a great idea for a special family dinner when prep time is an issue. thanks for the very nice recipe chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devin K Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prosper, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This was fantastic. I did not use the cayenne (family members are not fans of hot/spicy) and I used white wine instead of the suggested water to deglaze the pan for the sauce. I will definitely make it again! The reviewer who mentioned having everything prepared before beginning was spot on. Made the process so much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Tasty. We used white wine instead water and subbed cremini mushrooms. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I have always loved fish but this recipe put it over the top!! I am always up to trying Chef John's recipes as they usually don't call for too many ingredients & are easy to follow. Made this with white mushrooms as that is what I had on hand and served it with Brocollini & tri-color couscous what a great meal. I'm ready to eat halibut everyday!! Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieLLL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
used oyster+ white mushrooms, tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My first try of a Chef John recipe. Very easy to follow. Helps to have everything ready before starting. Goes fast. Tasted great, will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is my first Chef John recipe that I was able to follow as it was really simple. I made it with a slight variation - did not have cayenne pepper and used paprika and did not have parsley so left it out but it was all good at the end and very surprised with the taste it gave. Only warning is that the mushroom while sautéing may release heaps and heaps of water and would affect cooking the fish - may need to consider sautéing the mushrooms until all the liquids have evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States