Pan-Roasted Chicken with Lemon-Garlic Brussels Sprouts and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I am giving this recipe 5 stars because my whole family loved it, and ate it up without complaining! But I must admit I had no bacon, so I skipped that step and also used drumsticks instead of breasts. I knew that the drumsticks would cook fast, so I baked at 375 C and cut my potatoes into eighths instead of quarters. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was good! My husband loved it. Though I must admit that I really braised the chicken, brussel sprouts and potatoes instead of pan roasting. After cooking the bacon, I browned the chicken breasts in the bacon drippings. Then I added about a tablespoon of olive oil to the pan to saute the garlic and added the brussel sprouts, potatoes, lemon juice and salt and pepper. Then I added a little chicken broth and returned the chicken to the pan. I covered it and put it in the oven to cook at 350 for about 40 minutes and it was perfect. Maybe next time I'll actually pan roast it with the lemon slices. I'm sure it is excellent. Thank you LAMBR for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Delicious! Based on other reviews, I omitted the sliced lemon and doubled the brussels sprouts. I also used boneless, skinless chicken breasts (and therefore reduced the cooking time and temperature slightly). It was perfect -- definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAMBR
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Hi, this is my recipe and I would use at least a pound of sprouts not a 1/2 pound. My sons tell me I never cook enough of the sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAMBR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe was both delicious and easy to prepare. Instead of 5 tbsp of olive oil, I used the leftover bacon grease plus the remainder in olive oil similar to what Mari suggested. I was nervous about a 'too lemony flavour' (based on what other reviewers said) so I used six thin slices and that seemed to be an appropriate flavour. if you're not keen on lemons, i'd probably leave out the slices. Great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I loved this recipe and wouldn't change a thing! If you don't love lemon, don't make it, because it's the perfect mix of flavours exactly as it is. A bonus: the pan cleaned up so easily! Must be a combination of the oil and the lemons in the bottom... I would highly recommend this, and I can't wait to have company, because I will make this and everyone will be suitably impressed I'm sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I made this recipe pretty much as it was. I had some legs and drumsticks to use up so I substituted those instead. Directions were a little confusing and I just cooked the bacon in a small skillet and put the chicken in with the roasting pan with the sprouts and potatoes and cooked it up that way. Came out great. In the future I would probably increase the sprouts and cut back a little on the potatoes. The lemon with the sprouts was so good I may just work on a recipe with just lemon sprouts. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I did as the other reviewer said and braised it. - Browned bacon and removed. - Browned boneless chicken chicken and removed. - Browned garlic with 1 T olive oil. - Added brussel sprouts back in and tossed. - Added Sweet potatoes diced since I had no regular potatoes - Added lemon juice, salt pepper as per recipe. - Put bacon on top. - Added chicken back in. - Added 2 c chicken stock. Next time I might do less. - Braised for 35 minutes Sauce was awesome! and everybody ate it surprise dhow much they liked the brussel spouts. A definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I loved this recipe; we love all the ingredients so it made sense that the dish turned out as expected. One change for next time: omit the sliced lemons on the bottom. The lemon slices cooked down and it would be overwhelming to get a piece of the cooked rind in a mouthful; that's the only change I will make. Otherwise, a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I loved this! Husband and the kids not so much fans of the Brussel sprouts. Don't use two lemons even if you use more chicken. In this case more is not better ;-) not a good weeknight meal. Next time I may try broccoli and make this on a Sunday. Oh and I braised the veggies and the chicken in the bacon grease before loading in the oven pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States