Pan-Roasted Chicken with Lemon-Garlic Brussels Sprouts and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was good! My husband loved it. Though I must admit that I really braised the chicken, brussel sprouts and potatoes instead of pan roasting. After cooking the bacon, I browned the chicken breasts in the bacon drippings. Then I added about a tablespoon of olive oil to the pan to saute the garlic and added the brussel sprouts, potatoes, lemon juice and salt and pepper. Then I added a little chicken broth and returned the chicken to the pan. I covered it and put it in the oven to cook at 350 for about 40 minutes and it was perfect. Maybe next time I'll actually pan roast it with the lemon slices. I'm sure it is excellent. Thank you LAMBR for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lithonia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAMBR
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Hi, this is my recipe and I would use at least a pound of sprouts not a 1/2 pound. My sons tell me I never cook enough of the sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAMBR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
I only made one little change. I used the bacon drippings as part replacement of the olive oil and decreased totla dripping/ olive oil to 3 tablessppons. This is the perfect dish I was looking for all in one pan. I use my cast iron skillet to cook bacon and then used the sam skillet to complete the dish. Thanks (I too increased the amout of Brussel sprouts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I loved this recipe; we love all the ingredients so it made sense that the dish turned out as expected. One change for next time: omit the sliced lemons on the bottom. The lemon slices cooked down and it would be overwhelming to get a piece of the cooked rind in a mouthful; that's the only change I will make. Otherwise, a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I am giving this recipe 5 stars because my whole family loved it, and ate it up without complaining! But I must admit I had no bacon, so I skipped that step and also used drumsticks instead of breasts. I knew that the drumsticks would cook fast, so I baked at 375 C and cut my potatoes into eighths instead of quarters. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T and the lemon pith in the bottom of the pan ended up giving them a very bitter taste. And my potatoes didn't cook at that high of a temp, ended up dropping it down to 350 & covering it to finally get them done. I also had to make a 2nd batch of the lemon garlic sauce to get everything coated well. It smelled absolutely wonderful cooking though! I will try it again because it's a great combination of ingredients, but I will not put the lemon on the bottom as called for. Maybe I'll do like the other reviewers said & just cook everything in the pan together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I did as the other reviewer said and braised it. - Browned bacon and removed. - Browned boneless chicken chicken and removed. - Browned garlic with 1 T olive oil. - Added brussel sprouts back in and tossed. - Added Sweet potatoes diced since I had no regular potatoes - Added lemon juice, salt pepper as per recipe. - Put bacon on top. - Added chicken back in. - Added 2 c chicken stock. Next time I might do less. - Braised for 35 minutes Sauce was awesome! and everybody ate it surprise dhow much they liked the brussel spouts. A definite repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I loved this recipe and wouldn't change a thing! If you don't love lemon, don't make it, because it's the perfect mix of flavours exactly as it is. A bonus: the pan cleaned up so easily! Must be a combination of the oil and the lemons in the bottom... I would highly recommend this, and I can't wait to have company, because I will make this and everyone will be suitably impressed I'm sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
The chicken came out a bit dry and the potatoes were too firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Granado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Delicious! Based on other reviews, I omitted the sliced lemon and doubled the brussels sprouts. I also used boneless, skinless chicken breasts (and therefore reduced the cooking time and temperature slightly). It was perfect -- definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Herbes de Provence Roasted Chicken & Potatoes

See how to create a sensational baked chicken meal in 3 simple steps.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States