Pan Pierogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Was looking for a recipe for a casserole using frozen pierogies. Found this one and followed it, but instead of lasagna noodles and potato flakes, I boiled the frozen pierogies and layed them out in the baking dish and followed the recipe. I did take other reviewers advice and added bacon and used velveeta cheese. Served with a salad and my family of eight was pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
UGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH what a putzy business... and The guilt while making them is horrible hahaha ... I didn't try any because of it has all my worst enemies in it and I said no to temptation. they were just so messy and greasy and my boyfriend said why didn't you make the normal pieorge. I wanted to clobber him! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiesinabundle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
We didn't care for this recipe too much. I make alot of layers recipes with weird funky ingredients and this one just didn't cut it for me or the kids. It was edible but they said next time just make piergoies if that's what you were going for because this didnt taste anything like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
halved recipe... awesome! paul couldn't get enough! used herb instant and only about half the amount of butter it calls for and it was already way greasy. paul kept praising this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
LOVED IT!!!! Easy, delicous and addictive. Even ate leftovers for breakfast. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is pretty good! I used real potatoes (leftover mashed, seasoned with onion powder), added cheese directly to the potatoes, and cut the serving size down to 2. The butter was already in the potatoes, so no need to add more. I used two single-serving sized souffle cups sprayed with non-stick spray and carefully layered pieces of lasagna noodles with my cheesy potatoes. I topped it with some more cheese and bacon bits. Sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I left the onions out cause my bf doesn't like them. He loved the pan pierogies, I thought they were a little bland. I will add cottage cheese or something else to make the potato filling taste a bit better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is so easy to make. My whole family loved it. I made it just as written. This is so good, I plan on making it for a potluck supper next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Delicious. I made shells and used instant potatoes...it turned out just fine. I'll definitely make these the next time I have left over mashed potatoes and probably even if I don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erhard, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Like many reviewers have said before me, as-is this quite bland. Definitely don't use the instant mashed potatoes unless you already have them on hand (why would you?!). I made my own mash; since I was low on potatoes I used a medium-sized bag of frozen vegetables to make up the difference. I used whipping (heavy) cream, margarine, salt, pepper and dried chives in my mashed potatoes. I would also use garlic powder next time. I added the cheese into the mixture; we used a marble cheddar.I chose to use whole wheat lasagna noodles (a full box is too much; only use about half depending on the size of your pan). I sprayed my baking dish with PAM instead of greasing with butter. We topped the casserole with fried onions and used a full pack of bacon (okay, maybe that's a bit too much, but it gave lots of flavour). The end result was a little greasy (our fault, I'm sure) and tasted very similar to traditional pierogies. This is great when feeding a larger number of people without all the fuss of the individual dumplings. We would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Medallions with Caramelized Pan Sauce

An elegant beef tenderloin dish that’s surprisingly quick and easy.

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States