Pan Fried Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was a great way to use the swiss chard from my garden. I added canned beans to extend it, because the swiss chard shrinks alot after it cooks. My kids liked it, and so I think it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Easy! Yummy! Quick! I will try this with other greens that I make (kale, collards, beets).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Mmmm, so good! But healthy? Maybe a wash, if the chard outweighs the bacon fat and butter. I think I will try this without the bacon or maybe draining most of the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
We had a very hard time understanding the recipe. First we couldn't tell if you chop uncooked bacon (a chore) or cooked. So we used raw bacon, and had the "separated fat" from the meat in the pan. It didn't say drain it, or remove bacon; just melt butter in the skillet. I chose to drain it and wipe the skillet out first, then add the butter, garlic, and lemon. As others had suggested, we enjoy using the sliced crunchy stems and had to cook them a few minutes first, so we tossed the bacon pieces back in. Then we added the leaves, which we kept stirring over medium heat so neither the chard nor bacon would scorch because there was very little liquid. I can't imagine turning up the heat and covering it. By the way, since we were confused about how much swiss chard is a "bunch", we used about 12 large leaves... maybe it was too much? I gave it 4 stars because the flavor was very good and the ingredients are a great mix. Just wish it was written more clearly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Very tasty! Nice kick with the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Ocean Shores, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My husband has never had Chard so now this is one of his favorites The only thing I did different was at the end I threw in a splash of Balsamic Vinegar Yummy Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
So good! I should have made twice as much for my family of 4. I used kale, and just chopped it into rough inch-and-a-half bits. I also used canadian bacon (it's what I had) and minced 2 garlic cloves instead of the garlic paste. I couldn't believe how fast it went at the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
We're growing Swiss chard in our garden, and just today, it was ready to cut. I'm so glad I found this recipe. I haven't been crazy about Swiss Chard, and now I know why.. I didn't know the secret of bacon and garlic! We served this to my husband's parents. It was really fun to serve something so delicious that we grew ourselves. I forgot the lemon, but I did chop up a Vidalia onion and sauteed it with the garlic. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaxwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
My first time ever fixing and eating swiss chard. This was a great recipe and made for a very pleasant first experience. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
WOW! So tasty!!! I just used bacon bits instead of bacon and that worked just fine. My husband LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States