Pan Fried Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Loved this! I doubled the bacon and butter, and found that I didn't need salt. I tossed it with half a pound of penne pasta and enjoyed it with a glass of white wine. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucsmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I thought this was delicious. And I count anything as a success if it gets my husband to eat leafy green vegetables. I did follow the advice of another reviewer who chopped up the stems like celery and sauteed them for a little bit before adding the leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This was ABSOLUTELY delicious! I cooked the bacon in the oven and used 2 tablespoons of the bacon grease and olive oil instead of butter....Next time I will use 1/2 grease and oil. I also added a little freshly grated ginger. I also added some frozen shrimp I had on hand. This was a meal by itself for me and I actually prefer swiss chard now over fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZY CUISINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I used sliced corned beef cold cuts I had on hand instead of bacon to keep it lighter. It was delicious! The lemon was a great surprise for me. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Fantastic! I had no problem figuring out this recipe, so easy and it came out delicious! I'd never tried Swiss Chard before but my other gardening friends all grew it so I thought I'd give it a shot. Only difference was I used minced fresh garlic instead of paste. In a recipe, unless otherwise stated, an ingredient is typically raw, like the bacon for instance. Covering the dish for 4 minutes is important because this lets the juices from the leaves steam themselves, producing a tender-crisp texture that is just delicious! It did not say to remove the bacon or drain the grease like one reviewer did, the grease is part of the sauteing fat so I left it in and followed the instructions as written, and with that there was plenty of liquid to cook in. One bunch was perfect, and from what I've seen a bunch is typically 8 to 12 leaves... just right for a family of 3 or 4. The recipe was perfectly clear to me, and the whole family loved it! It earns its 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Greenfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holden, Missouri, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this tonight using vegetarian "fakin bacon" and it was a hit! I also used olive oil instead of butter, and chopped garlic instead of paste. Great way to get the family to eat their greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made this without the bacon and added chopped red onion to it. It was delicious! This was my first time trying chard and it was delicious with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Delicious! I did use the stems though. I cut them into small pieces and threw them in for a a few minutes before i added the leaves. I want to try this again but to make it a tad healthier i am planning on substituting turkey bacon. I used a "bunch" of swiss chard from the store but i wish i would have used two! I found that one bunch was too small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This is a great, simple recipe. I used fresh garlic I diced and tweaked the amounts of things a little, but it had great flavor and was easy to pull together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This was very good. And the family enjoyed it. I did slice up most of the stems and threw them in before wilting the greens. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States