Pan Fried Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Although I really liked this recipe, I downgraded it on the merit of nutrition alone. I can't imagine why you would want to add two tablespoons of butter to the already greasy bacon drippings. I sauteed the bacon in a non-stick pan and drained some of the bacon fat off then continued with the recipe. That cuts the calories at least by a third if not by half and is still very good. My hubby loved this recipe and it is a definite keeper. I think adding balsamic vinegar rather than lemon juice would also be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Everything tastes better with bacon. Didn't add the butter (the bacon made enough fat) or the lemon juice. Probably added more than 1/2 tsp of garlic as we love it as much as bacon. Gave the pan a swig of balsamic vinegar at the end. Great way to cook chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Although the stems of the chard can be tough, I choose to cut them from the leaves, slice them and simmer in a bit of water to soften them. Especially if using rainbow chard they not only add nutrients and texture but are visually appealing. Two slices of apple wood smoked nitrate free bacon and 1 Tablespoon of butter worked perfectly with my bunch of chard. The splash of lemon brightened all the flavors quite beautifully. This is an excellent recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Thought this was good. Swiss chard is my dad's favorite vegetable, so it's always fun to explore options for preparing it. I don't think "The Hubbs" would list ANY vegetable as a favorite, and even he seemed to enjoy this one. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Very good! I didn't have fresh lemon juice so I left it out. I also chopped the stems and a small onion and sauteed with the chopped bacon before adding in the leaves. Finely chopped a garlic clove instead of making garlic paste, and added it to the pan after adding the butter. This was very good and we will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This didn't turn out so well for me. I might have over cooked. It had a bitter taste so I added a little brown sugar which took the edge off of the bitterness. I might try again. Or I might leave out the lemon juice next time or replace with some vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySacTown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I made this tonight with our own home grown garden chard. It was delicous and a good base recipe, that I added my own touches to.I did not measure. I sauteed sliced onion,2 fresh garlic cloves with the cut stems in olive oil.Then I added the chard leaves and chopped cooked bacon (1 slice) lemon juice and toasted pine nuts on top. I will be making often, as our chard grows - thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
My family liked this dish. It was very good. My kids didn't much like the texture, but the adults liked it alot. It's one of those dishes that you like more, the more you eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
this was absolutely delicious. the recipe is perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
We get the Farm Fresh To You organic produce deliveries and the first time we received swiss chard in the box I searched for a way to prepare it since I'd never had it before. This recipe sounded great... who doesn't love bacon, butter, and garlic?? This recipe tastes great too! It is now a staple around our house :) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States