Pan Fried Swiss Chard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
WHOA!!!!!! This was incredible!! It almost didn't make it to the table b/c we were picking it out of the pan!! My husband cooked an amazing steak and he said "the only thing I don't like about this dinner is that there's no more swiss chard!" Seriously. Crazy good. We used fresh garlic and I went ahead and used all of the chard, including the stems. I just cut the chard across in about 1 inch slices. It was perfect. Our new favorite. We also served grilled sweet potatoes with cumin and brown sugar...good stuff....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Just tried this recipe today and it was delicious, followed the recipe and it came out beautiful. I used red chard. I didn't use garlic paste, instead I crushed two cloves of garlic and dropped them into the pot with the bacon grease. I also added baked sweet potato chunks to the chard and topped it all with shaved parmesan cheese. YUMMY!! Definitely will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Do not discard the stems according to our farm co-op!!! Just trim them at the end and chop them into one inch pieces. This has a lot of flavor. I didn't use garlic paste-just pressed garlic right in the pan and sautéed it. I also didn't add the lemon because I didn't have one. Still turned out to be a fabulous side dish! This was our first time tasting Swiss chard and it won't be our last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Delicious! I used fresh garlic in place of paste. To cut down on the fat I used only 2 teaspoons of butter and replaced the bacon with Turkey bacon. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
First time Swiss chard cook. Loved this recipe. After reading all other's reviews, I pretty much stuck to the original recipe. Steamed the stems ahead of adding them to the recipe with the leaves. Also, for my palate only, I added hot sauce (I'm a spicy girl) to my portion only. Love reading everyone's reviews as it gives me confidence to try new foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I thought the lemon juice made the greens a little bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is a great recipe. I also added 1/4 sliced onion and 1/4 tsp. sweet paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessicahoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Love this one and I make frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was very tasty. I made it just as recipe was written and it was very good - will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Pretty good, but you REALLY should remove the bacon before adding the chard if you want the bacon to stay crispy. Leaving it in causes it to steam and become almost soggy. It wasn't bad, I would just have preferred it to stay crispy! Next time, I'll remove the bacon and most of the bacon grease before sauteing the garlic in the butter and add the bacon back after the chard is wilted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States