Pan-Fried Steak with Marsala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I used top sirloin but will use filet next time. My modifications: added cornstarch to thicken and doubled the marsala amount. Also, I had previously made broth from this roasted chicken recipe which had rosemary it (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Roast-Chicken-with-Rosemary/Detail.aspx ). Next time, I won't add more rosemary to the sauce. Overall, the sauce is a hit! Served with side of boiled red potatoes and canned corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nairie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I cut the steak to pieces and brown the pieces. I then added a whole head of crushed garlic to the meat. That is the only tweak I made. The flavor is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
The pan-frying went well... but, something went horribly awry with the marsala sauce. I'd prefer it without the sauce... or maybe a thicker one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
we used this recipe for chicken and I did not care for it at all. The wine seemed to overpower everything. I eat this dish at my favorite restraunt all the time so maybe I did something wrong. I will try it with steak next time and see how it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
The only thing I would change is the steak choice. Other than that the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Great recipe. This is always a hit with the family. I tweak the sauce a bit to suite our tastes. This added another favorite menu item to our list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is my first successful attempt at Steak. I am a novice cook, and I found this to be simple to follow. It came out great. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Excellent flavor and very easy to make. I only wish it was a little thicker. Next time I will add cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This was pretty good, we really liked the sauce, though I wish it had thickened up some since I was serving the steaks with mashed potatoes. Next time I'll add a bit of cornstarch mixed with a little broth at the end to thicken it and see if that helps any. I used beef broth instead of chicken and that seemed to work very well. I also seasoned the steaks with garlic in addition to the salt and pepper (and used ribeyes as a personal preference). Over all I think this was very good. With a few more tweaks it could be amazing. as it was, it tasted pretty close to something I'd be served in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States