Pan-Fried Steak with Marsala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This satisfied my craving for a good steak with a fantastic sauce. I used an iron skillet to prepare this in as it allows me to get the heat very high before I put the steaks in (which makes them crusty and seals in the juices). I also sauted mushrooms and added to the sauce. I used rib eye steaks, fresh rosemary and beef broth. I also used Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper...it does make a difference. This is really an excellent recipe...a steak I would expect to get in an upscale restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I used chuck steak and it was so bad we had to throw the dinner in the garbage. Tried this with skirt steak and it was much better and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
Cannot wait to make this recipe again. Used filet mignon and it was superb. Also fresh rosemary. I think this would also be great for some thick boneless pork loin chops, like pork marsala. The sauce was to die for. Served with some mashed potatoes and drizzled some of the sauce on the potatoes. For a nice presentation, I took a long piece of fresh rosemary and placed it in the potatoes leaning over on the filet. Husband loved this. My mouth is watering now -- I think I will make this again tonight. Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Very good indeed. Our only tip is - if you are not making your own chicken broth, use broth that comes in boxes and not cans. Otherwise, when the sauce reduces, you will be left with a slightly metallic taste using canned broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I used tenderized chuck eye steaks that I marinaded for a couple of hours in olive oil w/ a tad bit of balsamic vinegar & rosemary & I had pretty good results...not melt in your mouth tender, of course, but not too tough, at all. I used 3/4 c of marsala ( a good one...you'll be happier w/ the results if you don't use a wine bought in the condiment section of the grocery store) & 3/4 c of chicken broth...decreasing the butter to 2 tbp. to make it less fattening. We loved this! Served coconut shrimp as an appy (I had some leftover) & then these wonderful steaks w/ corn on the cob w/ parmesan butter, fresh tomato slices & rolls. My grandson was in hog heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I'd rate this 5 stars if it weren't for the chuck steaks and rosemary. I abhor rosemary, and chuck steaks are too tough to pan fry. I stumbled upon a 2 pound package of filet mignon marked down "Reduced for Quick Sale" for half price at my favorite market. I always have Marsala on hand to make Veal Marsala. After searing the steaks, I placed them in the oven set at 200 to keep them warm. I sauted the garlic, some shallots, and some sliced crimini mushrooms, then added 1 tsp tomato paste and let it start to brown. Added 1 1/2 cups Marsala (no broth) and reduced it to 1 cup. Added 4 Tblsp butter whisked in 1 T at a time, and finished the sauce with a squirt of lemon juice and some freshly chopped parsley. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
Thanks Lynne , I am a man that likes to cook and this recipe was fast and easy to do.. The taste was awesome and i plan to try it over and over with maybe a few twist of my own .. Thanks again and i would tell anyone to try it you'll like it ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This was very tasty. I doubled the Marsala and added mushrooms. Thanks for the recipe - will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This was very good. It's a great sauce. Great for carb watchers. As someone already suggested, great with mushrooms. I added them at the same time I added the chicken broth and marsala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
This is definitely one of our favorites. My husband raved about the taste of the sauce. We used round steak the first time we made it and that turned out well. Used top sirloin the next time which was a lot thicker and tended to be tougher. We doubled the chicken broth to 1 cup and the marsala wine to 1 cup and added a can of mushrooms when we sauted the garlic. Served with garlic mashed potatoes this is a family favorite -we made twice the first week we tried it! Can't wait to try the sauce with chicken and pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNDMILLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States