Pan-Fried Steak with Marsala Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
WHAT GREAT FLAVOR. WE HAD THIS A A RESTURANT AND WENT HUNTING FOR A RECIPE. WE ALL ATE UNTILL WE WERE ILL. ID SAY THIS AND I DID GREAT. I DID A COUPLE OF THINGS DIFFRENT. NOT CAREING FOR ROSEMARY I USED FRESH THYME. SLICED ONIONS AND MUSHROOMS. ABOUT A 1/2 CUP HEAVY CREAM JUST TO THICKEN THINGS AND ADD FLAVOR. I USED BOXED LOW SALT BEEF BROTH. THE MASALA WAS ALSO THE LOWEST SALT I COULD FIND. WHICH I FOUND WITH THE COOKING WINES.HOPE THIS HELPS YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Very Tasty. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Good reciepe. Sauce was realy soupy when I made it. I added some corn starch to thinken and it came out realy realy well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe - the sauce was terrific. I think next time I'll add some mushrooms and maybe try to thicken the sauce a little, but it was still great as is! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I think using a good cut is very important. mine doesn't turn out tender and juicy,probably marinating for a long time, i.e overnight will help. also substituted red wine for marsala and had to add cornstarch to thicken. I will try it again using the recommended frank steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatebabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
very easy to make and had a very distinct taste from the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This satisfied my craving for a good steak with a fantastic sauce. I used an iron skillet to prepare this in as it allows me to get the heat very high before I put the steaks in (which makes them crusty and seals in the juices). I also sauted mushrooms and added to the sauce. I used rib eye steaks, fresh rosemary and beef broth. I also used Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper...it does make a difference. This is really an excellent recipe...a steak I would expect to get in an upscale restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Hmmm - I'll give this a 4 for a flavorful sauce (husband loved it - I thought too much rosemary) but I couldn't eat the steaks cooked only for 10 minutes - they were still very rare - I ended up cooking for at least 20-25 minutes and there was one that we couldn't eat at all because it was so pink/red. So - other than that, I followed the recipe exactly except I added worcestershire, which I wouldn't add again - I think I added too much. I'll try beef broth next time as other reviewers suggested. I will definitely try this again - maybe with a thinner cut of steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This recipe was really good! I marinated the steaks for 1 hour in a mixture of olive oil, vinegar, salt, pepper, and some crushed garlic. Then I sauted mushrooms into the wine mixture just before it completely reduced. It turned out great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This was sooo good! Really enjoyed the flavor. I had no idea what I was going to do with chuck steaks & this was so easy! I didn't have marsala, so I used cooking sherry instead & also took another reviewers suggestion to sub the chicken broth for beef broth. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina B. Cookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Sensational Steak Sandwich

The slow cooker is the key to these tender sirloin steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States