Pan-fried Polenta with Corn, Kale and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
this looks pretty, but doesn't have the follow through for our family. If i were to fry polenta, i wouldn't bother with the olive oil on account of the aftertaste. Once an oil is heated that hot, it looses its health benefits anyway. This dish was too many steps and not great enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I used regular cornmeal instead of stone ground... not sure if that had anything to do with the fact that my polenta kept sticking to the pan and in the end turned out to be a goopy mess... I don't think I'll ever try this recipe again. It took too much effort and time, and the results were frustratingly mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rexi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Took WAY too long to cook and ended up with a flavorless mess. The only redeeming quality is the recipe is inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Loved it! For those too lazy to follow these long winded directions, you can buy dried polenta and it cooks in about 10 mins not 30. Resting in the fridge over-night might also be a useful thing to do in advance just to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Cooked almost exactly as listed save for used minced leeks instead of garlic, used Trader Joe's Herb butter reduction instead of regular butter, and added 2 tbs of It. blend cheese with the parm for more cheesy flavor. Turned out very delicious! The hubby and I were both going back for seconds! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ereshkigal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
oh lala! this was yummy! i did make a few changes...i had the 'tube' of polenta, i just sliced that up and cooked it in the olive oil with some dried basil, dried rosemary, and garlic. i did not have fresh tomato's, so i used a can of tomato's and a can of corn. placed both on top of polenta and smothered it with the goat cheese. of course, i put over the bed of kale that i sauteed up. i did not use any water, just a little oil. the whole family loved this dish~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by serena shultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fortuna, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This was way too much polenta for two servings, in fact, I made it into 8. However, my polenta turned out a little gel-like and stuck to my frying pan. Turned into a gloppy mess, not a nice golden brown cake. Disappointed but will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I made only one change to the recipe, and that's that I substituted mozarella for goat cheese (I don't like goat cheese). I loved the texture and flavor mix of this dish, but it still tasted a little bland. I'm going to make it again and add some green hot sauce to it. I think it'll be even better then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this as a side dish but I can't imagine this serving only 2 people as a main dish. This makes a lot of polenta! I don't like tomatoes, so didn't add them, but the polenta with goat cheese and kale tasted great together. Served with halibut. I just wished the polenta was thicker and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great recipe. I modified it slightly to just cook all listed ingredients in a large skillet. Once blended (about 15 minutes), I left it on the stove on Medium High (cover off) and let the bottom get brown and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREN2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States