Pan Fried Halibut Steak with Light Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I really loved this recipe, although there was nothing "green" about the sauce. Halibut is off season right now and the price reflects it - $16.99 a pound! That is just unbelievable especially living in New England! Anyways...used swordfish instead. Came out delicious. To cut down on calories I used light cream instead of heavy. Use a light hand on the lemon juice - mine was a little too tart so I added a dash more cream. I highly recommend adding the capers. Gives it just the right zip in the end. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This recipe was easy to prepare and was absolutely delicious! It was far tastier than many restaurant fish dishes I have had. I used flounder because that is what I had purchased and I think any white fish would due. I would use about 1/2 of a lemon but other than that would not change a thing! Incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Em
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I used tilapia and also did not add capers. Served it with mash potato and green beans. Great presentation but not very flavorful, I even added extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I made this with fresh grouper and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This was great! I made it last night with tilapia as there was no halibut at the store. I also had no capers but still very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Had guests for dinner last night and was looking for something different to fix. YUM, YUM, YUM. I followed the directions exactly, except the fish monger did not have halibut so used red snapper. The flavors were spot on and we all loved this. It will become a regular. Thanks for the recipe Charter Guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Pretty good! I didn't have any capers either. I'm going to try it with talapia next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Made this today and it was great. Didn't have capers but will get some and make it again soon for company! We love wild halibut from Alaska!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I made this recipe for my inlaws, it was a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This is fantastic! My 2 kids and hubby could not stop raving about it-definitely restaurant quality! I will make this again and again! Fairly simple (as long as you have all the ingredients on hand) and it makes for a beautiful presentation. I did not add the capers though. I served this dish with french bread (bread is a must for the yummy sauce), and garlic-parmesan green beans. I am not sure if the green bean recipe is from here or not-I got it somewhere online! You snap off both ends of the fresh green beans, blanch them in a pan in enough water to cover, strain & run under cold water, return to the pan and stir fry them in some butter. Then sprinkle them with garlic salt, pepper, and a good amount of parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwyfin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Almond Crusted Halibut Crystal Symphony

Turn heads (and plates) with this surprisingly easy, but very impressive, dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States