Pan Fried Halibut Steak with Light Green Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I made this with wahoo instead of halibut, and it was wonderful. The wahoo was very thick, so it took more time to cook, but had great flavor and a very meaty texture. Next time I'd use a little less lemon juice and more wine & cream (I used half & half.) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Great recipe, I was hesitant about the sauce but my husband loved it. Will definitely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sechelt, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I'm not sure I loved the capers, but a good dish overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
AWESOME! Used salmon instead of halibut but otherwise made no changes...this is our favourite fish recipe now. Thanks for such an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
VERY good!! Wandered out to my herb garden and didn't have any basil but lots of parsley so used that and dry basil. Had fresh oregano but decided against that. And half and half rather than heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very easy to make and extremely flavorful. Best halibut recipe I've ever made. Impressed the socks off of the Mrs. and I look forward to making it again for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I left out the heavy cream and I don't think I missed the extra calories-this was an excellent way to prepare white fish and would probably even make tilapia taste pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I made this as written, and i found it to be a great dish but other reviewers are right about the excessive lemon content. I think 1 Tbsp of lemon juice should be the maximum amount added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
We loved the sauce! I think it would be great with most any fish. You must, must, must use fresh herbs, however, to get the full benefit of these flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Cumming

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made half this recipe using tilapia, but I did make the full amount of sauce, because after reducing I didn’t think there would be enough had I only made half. There is no need for the amount of flour indicated in the recipe, just a couple of tablespoons worked for me. I cut the butter in half and omitted the lemon juice. FRESH parsley and basil are key to this recipe - using dried just wouldn’t produce the same excellent results. And be sure to use a wine you would actually drink, not that horrid cooking wine – don’t even buy that stuff!! We thoroughly enjoyed this and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Grilled Skirt Steak with Asian BBQ Sauce

See how easy it is to make your own Asian-inspired BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States