Pan Fried Eggplant with Saffron Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Excellent. I didn't make the saffron mayonnaise, but the eggplant was fried perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cairocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I had 1 small eggplant and 6 of the long skinny ones and tried out this recipe. I just filled the bottom of the pan with about 1/4" of oil for the frying. Turned out good. Husband doesn't normally like eggplant, but he liked the recipe, but you know everything is better fired, right? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I love pan fried eggplants to begin with. But this sauce is just heaven like. The key is suffron. It made a HUGE difference. I absolutely will make this again and share it with my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This was a delicious and impressive appetizer. That being said, I will probably grill or bake the eggplant without breading next time to cut down on the fat. This disappeared quickly and everyone was looking for more. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made these last night as a side dish and my hubby and I really liked it. I followed the recipe exactly but did find, however, that both the eggplant and the mayo needed more seasoning/zing (this could just be my personal preference), so next time I will adjust my seasonings to suit my tastes. I will also experiment with baking/broiling instead of frying, and/or using plain yogurt, to cut down on the fat content. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This recipe is hands down amazing! I was nervous about frying the eggplant but it came out beautifully and delicious! The saffron mayo makes this dish. I will continue to make this appetizer again and again! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, but decided for time's sake not to roll up the eggplant strips after frying. I just served them as wedges with the saffron mayo. When slicing my eggplant, I first skinned two sides with my knife, so the slices I cut first from each of those ends would not be all skin on one side. One other tip: once oil is hot, fry at medium temperature. The eggplant in the olive oil seems to burn easily. 5 stars b/c my husband loved these and said the texture and breading were spot on (I however, don't care for eggplant in any capacity!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! Don't skip the saffron mayonnaise! It adds just the right touch to the eggplant. I think this dish is best eaten immediately - piping hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Super easy! The cayenne pepper gave the eggplant a tasty zing! The saffron mayonnaise was a hit. It was fun because this was the first I used saffron in a recipe. My family went nuts trying to guess the secret ingredient for the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Made this dish last night--it is amazing! I served eggplant as strips and the saffron mayonnaise is spectacular. Included some diced red pepper for color and extra zing. Serve piping hot and they will surely be quickly devoured. Many Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States