Pan Fried Eggplant with Saffron Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I made this for an afternoon snack and both of my boys ate them up ! I followed it exactly. Next time I am going to cut my eggplant "french fry" style. That zippy saffron mayo was a huge hit and has been requested for ham sandwiches. Thank you for the share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I expected so much more from this after all the reviews and was hoping to use this to wow friends at a tapas dinner, but after trying this at home I was a little underwhelmed. I even had saffron that I had brought back from a trip to Spain, that I used. It didn't present very pretty on the plate and the saffron mayo that everyone raved about didn't do a thing for me. Maybe my pinch wasn't big enough, even though the mayo turned yellow. The spices in the eggplant were really good, but overall it didn't meet my expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I used Asian eggplant. Good, but wasn't totally sold on the saffron mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
So simple but so tasty!! Everyone who's tried it loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Eggplant fried is delicious. I've never had saffron but a pinch of tumeric works great in this recipe. I added 4 cloves of garlic to try to consume less mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe almost exact. I used a lot of cayenne pepper & garlic powder. I'm glad I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Super easy! The cayenne pepper gave the eggplant a tasty zing! The saffron mayonnaise was a hit. It was fun because this was the first I used saffron in a recipe. My family went nuts trying to guess the secret ingredient for the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made these last night as a side dish and my hubby and I really liked it. I followed the recipe exactly but did find, however, that both the eggplant and the mayo needed more seasoning/zing (this could just be my personal preference), so next time I will adjust my seasonings to suit my tastes. I will also experiment with baking/broiling instead of frying, and/or using plain yogurt, to cut down on the fat content. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Made this dish last night--it is amazing! I served eggplant as strips and the saffron mayonnaise is spectacular. Included some diced red pepper for color and extra zing. Serve piping hot and they will surely be quickly devoured. Many Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I love pan fried eggplants to begin with. But this sauce is just heaven like. The key is suffron. It made a HUGE difference. I absolutely will make this again and share it with my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States