Pan Fried Daikon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CindyJo47
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. My boyfriend can't believe these are made with a radish! I use sage instead of paprika which gives them a taste similar to traditional thanksgiving stuffing. Also, like others, I use only enough olive oil to cover the bottom of the pan and fry the cakes in that. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Delicious! I bought a daikon on accident (thought it was a parsnip) and had to figure out what to do with it. I tried this recipe because I had all the ingredients home. These are so tasty! They are a bit too salty even though I added less and tried to rinse the daikon before draining. I ate it with steamed rice and it balanced out the salt nicely. One thing I should have done was dice the onions smaller so they blended into the patty better. Our first time preparing daikon, but we will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
We received three large daikon in our CSA delivery and I had no idea what to do with them before I found this recipe. These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosephR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Excelsior Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I live in Japan and subscribe to a grocery service that invariably sends me a daikon each week. These are not US daikon, my daikon are HUGE. My biggest shocker was the 5 kilo daikon. It was like a cricket bat! Needless to say, I struggle to use up all that daikon weekly and I frequently give it away to Japanese friends. Not anymore. This recipe is fabulous. EVERYONE, including the picky 6 year old, LOVED this recipe. I have made it twice now, served as a side dish, but I can see making it on a large scale for party nibbles. The only change I was forced to make was the sriracha - the only thing I had on hand was Thai chili sauce, which worked very well and added a nice tang. I was generous with it - probably more like a tablespoon, as it was sweet chili sauce. I also fried the cakes in just enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan - not near as much as the recipe called for. Seriously, if you have daikon in the house, make this. This recipe will change your opinion of daikon - it has changed mine - I now look forward to the daikon rather than dread them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHUXTABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
LOVE IT! I didn't use the salt to dry out the daikon since I never really use salt - just shredded and used paper towels to remove moisture. OH, and I coated the patties in Panko (Japanese style bread crumbs) so that they had an added crunch on the outside! This was totally an awesome way to use daikon, and I will be using this recipe in my regular rotation for sure! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Alright, so I made a big mistake because I used turnips instead of radishes (grated, soaked in salt, etc.), BUT this recipe was so versatile and delicious that it turned out just fine. The only change I made other than that was added some crunched up crackers in addition to the bread crumbs because my mixture was too wet and I wanted it to have a little extra crunch to it. This was delicious! I made a very similar recipe for zucchini patties a few months ago, but honestly I liked this one better. I might try to make this with radishes next, but just in case anyone is curious, it does work great with turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were so good! A wonderful answer to the weekly question of "How the heck do I cook THIS??" that my CSA prompts me to ask myself weekly. I came up just shy of the full 1-1/2 c of daikon, but didn't reduce the amounts of other ingredients. I subbed the red onions for green onion/scallions, and used WAY less oil (about 1/3 c). Served with sweet chili sauce. VERY tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Yummy! I skipped direction #1 and instead grated my daikon the night prior [tip from the previous reviewer] and squeeze the liquid out before use. Added 1 tsp of Sriracha because I like the tang. I didn't have Italian bread crumb; so, I added 1/2 tsp of Italian dressing powder mix. Delicious & easy to cook. [Must have taste buds for daikon radish.] This recipe is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was an amazing cake! I love it so much! I served it with a dallop of a mixture of may, hoisen sauce, Sriracha, and chopped green onion. It was perfect! I recommend this to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States