Pan Fried Daikon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I live in Japan and subscribe to a grocery service that invariably sends me a daikon each week. These are not US daikon, my daikon are HUGE. My biggest shocker was the 5 kilo daikon. It was like a cricket bat! Needless to say, I struggle to use up all that daikon weekly and I frequently give it away to Japanese friends. Not anymore. This recipe is fabulous. EVERYONE, including the picky 6 year old, LOVED this recipe. I have made it twice now, served as a side dish, but I can see making it on a large scale for party nibbles. The only change I was forced to make was the sriracha - the only thing I had on hand was Thai chili sauce, which worked very well and added a nice tang. I was generous with it - probably more like a tablespoon, as it was sweet chili sauce. I also fried the cakes in just enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan - not near as much as the recipe called for. Seriously, if you have daikon in the house, make this. This recipe will change your opinion of daikon - it has changed mine - I now look forward to the daikon rather than dread them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHUXTABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good. I found it a bit too salty, so you can reduce the salt and when draining the daikon, press out some extra water. If you find that the patties are not holding, add an extra egg. I used garlic chili sauce and homemade corg (Caramelized Onion and Roasted Garlic) jelly as sauces. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Yummy! I skipped direction #1 and instead grated my daikon the night prior [tip from the previous reviewer] and squeeze the liquid out before use. Added 1 tsp of Sriracha because I like the tang. I didn't have Italian bread crumb; so, I added 1/2 tsp of Italian dressing powder mix. Delicious & easy to cook. [Must have taste buds for daikon radish.] This recipe is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Instead of using only daikon, I mixed sweet potatoe and daikon radish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
We received three large daikon in our CSA delivery and I had no idea what to do with them before I found this recipe. These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosephR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Excelsior Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very tasty and pretty easy to make! I used much less oil - enough to cover the bottom of the pan (maybe 1/4 inch worth) and green onions instead of red. They turned out great. Also, I skipped the step of salting and draining the daikon because I had grated mine the day before and let it sit in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Alright, so I made a big mistake because I used turnips instead of radishes (grated, soaked in salt, etc.), BUT this recipe was so versatile and delicious that it turned out just fine. The only change I made other than that was added some crunched up crackers in addition to the bread crumbs because my mixture was too wet and I wanted it to have a little extra crunch to it. This was delicious! I made a very similar recipe for zucchini patties a few months ago, but honestly I liked this one better. I might try to make this with radishes next, but just in case anyone is curious, it does work great with turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squirrely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was surprisingly good! I had a feeling nobody would eat it - after all, who eats fried radishes? - but I had to use them up. These were DEVOURED and everyone wanted more! They were pretty easy to make, although they didn't hold together as well as I would have liked. I think next time I'll add a little more of the Sriracha sauce, they didn't have much bite as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Like the other reviewers, I found this weird radish thing in my CSA basket and was all like, "Huh?" So Allrecipes to the rescue and I decided to make these radish patties! THEY WERE GREAT. I let my radishes stand on a kitchen towel for the better part of an afternoon (I had plenty of time) so I could cut down on salt content. I added some green onions so I could use them before they went bad and left out the hot sauce (didn't have any.) Other than that, I followed the recipe and was pleasantly surprised. Thanks for giving me something to do besides host fake sword fights with the gigantic radishes I got with my CSA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
What a delicious thing to do with daikon! Even made with vegan and gluten free with a flax "egg" (1 tbsp ground flax mixed with 3 tbsp water) and ground oats with a 1/4 tsp italian seasoning. It works to oil some parchment paper and bake for 9 minutes at 400 degrees and flip and bake for another 9 minutes. Squeezed out the water from the shredded daikon too as suggested by other reviewers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoyhoyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States