Pan Fried Daikon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
i'm gna blame the fact that i used regular radishes.. i used 1/4 of a white onion.. and a little less than 1/2 cup of the bread crumbs.. it just didn't have much of a flavor other than onions and radishes.. i dipped them in sweet chili sauce and it was "okay"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I had an abundance of about 4 other types of radish & decided to try this with them. It was awesome! I eyeballed all ingredients & used green onion & garlic chive instead of red onion. Instead of Italian flavored breadcrumbs, I had some leftover homemade breadcrumbs & sprinkled in some Herbes de Provence for flavor. I served with a Sriracha mayo mix like several of the others. My kid was turning her nose at the idea of a radish cake until she tasted it. This is definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This was the tastiest way to enjoy one of these huge radishes. I would stress draining them thoroughly, as they can fall apart during frying. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LostInFL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrettsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Wow! Who would have thought that a "radish" would taste this good! The whole family loved this dish. I've been told I can fix this anytime. I served it with chili sauce/mayo mix that was good on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Just made this recipe. It's really, really, really good. Wow! Daikon cake is my favorite dim sum, hands down. Now I can make it, or at least this version of it, at home. A friend brought me the daikon from a trip to the Japanese neighborhood in Torrence, California.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Like the other reviewers, I found this weird radish thing in my CSA basket and was all like, "Huh?" So Allrecipes to the rescue and I decided to make these radish patties! THEY WERE GREAT. I let my radishes stand on a kitchen towel for the better part of an afternoon (I had plenty of time) so I could cut down on salt content. I added some green onions so I could use them before they went bad and left out the hot sauce (didn't have any.) Other than that, I followed the recipe and was pleasantly surprised. Thanks for giving me something to do besides host fake sword fights with the gigantic radishes I got with my CSA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Great use of Daikon Radishes. I got a bunch from the CSA I am in and was at a loss as to what to use them with since I do not like the tang of a radish. This was a great use and was delicious. I used a little garlic aioli as a dip for them and it worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
The flavor is close to a spring roll, and the texture is like a crab cake. Here were mistakes I made that you should avoid: I did not drain the daikon well enough, so the mixture was too wet and did not hold together. I did not chop the red onions small enough, and the larger pieces fell off of the patty. I used the full amount of recommended oil, and the first batch of patties fell apart and floated in the pool of oil. I drained my pan and used a thin layer of oil for better results with the second batch. Other changes: I did not have paprika so I used cayenne (1/4 teaspoon). They were spicy! I did not have Sriracha so I used a Thai chili garlic sauce. I did not have bread crumbs, so I made some out of pulverized wheat toast. Still warm, so the steam might have kept the patty from holding together. Even though we ate the pieces with a fork like it was a side of rice, it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbilina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
LOVE IT! I didn't use the salt to dry out the daikon since I never really use salt - just shredded and used paper towels to remove moisture. OH, and I coated the patties in Panko (Japanese style bread crumbs) so that they had an added crunch on the outside! This was totally an awesome way to use daikon, and I will be using this recipe in my regular rotation for sure! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
WAY too salty, but will try again with salt to taste because I can imagine it would be good if the salt was less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Walton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States