Pan Fried Daikon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I found that little changes to the recipe don't really matter much- I didn't have Italian seasoned bread crumbs, so used Panko and threw in some Penzyes "Pizza Seasoning"- also used "Italian" seasoning as an extra. Didn't have red onion once, so I've used green onion, and also shallots in the past- I've dressed them with mayo mixed with dill, lemon, and garlic. I fry them in ghee mixed with grape seed oil- but I think any oil or butter would be great. They're a big hit every time I make them- they are delicious! One tip- not only do I salt and let rest over night to remove water, I then throw the grated radish into a towel and squeeze to remove more. The drier the radish is, the easier is stays together once you throw in the rest of the ingredients. Thanks so much for the recipe- this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Easy, tasty and mu husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Just made this and I liked it a lot. Kind of tastes like an eggroll crab cake..without the crab. We got the large radish in our CSA and so I was happy to be able to find something tasty to do with it. I'm actually excited we didn't use it all up. All I did different was use leeks instead of red onion, because that's what I had and I tried to make some kind of chili garlic sauce with hot sauce and soyaki(trader joes marinade) Anyways, pretty much did the recipe, was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
What a delicious thing to do with daikon! Even made with vegan and gluten free with a flax "egg" (1 tbsp ground flax mixed with 3 tbsp water) and ground oats with a 1/4 tsp italian seasoning. It works to oil some parchment paper and bake for 9 minutes at 400 degrees and flip and bake for another 9 minutes. Squeezed out the water from the shredded daikon too as suggested by other reviewers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoyhoyCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very tasty recipe. I was surprised by the complex flavors of the dish. You can use less salt and less oil than called for. They were great cold for breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
It didn't hold together as well as I would have liked when I was frying it. Otherwise, it was very tasty. Maybe I needed to grate the daikon a bit finer and use flour instead of breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Even my 1yr old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
i'm gna blame the fact that i used regular radishes.. i used 1/4 of a white onion.. and a little less than 1/2 cup of the bread crumbs.. it just didn't have much of a flavor other than onions and radishes.. i dipped them in sweet chili sauce and it was "okay"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I had an abundance of about 4 other types of radish & decided to try this with them. It was awesome! I eyeballed all ingredients & used green onion & garlic chive instead of red onion. Instead of Italian flavored breadcrumbs, I had some leftover homemade breadcrumbs & sprinkled in some Herbes de Provence for flavor. I served with a Sriracha mayo mix like several of the others. My kid was turning her nose at the idea of a radish cake until she tasted it. This is definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This was the tastiest way to enjoy one of these huge radishes. I would stress draining them thoroughly, as they can fall apart during frying. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LostInFL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrettsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States