Pan Fried Daikon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I randomly purchased Daikon at the store (trying more veggies). I found this recipe and LOVED IT! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Had never used daikon before but wanted to. Liked this recipe a lot. Found the daikon to be surprisingly juicy. Had to compensate by adding bread crumbs. Next time, I would probably squeeze out some of that extra liquid with a kitchen towel. Served with a sriracha sauce, this tasted exactly like a stuffed quahog, if you've ever had one of those. I'm from Rhode Island, where we love our stuffies, so that's high praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This is a great use of a daikon radish, but the picture is deceiving. The taste was fine, a bit bland. I would up the Sriracha or put in something that gives it more taste. Do salt the daikon beforehand - I even strained and squeezed it out with paper towel. Very watery. My "cakes" came out wetter than wished before frying and therefore the middle wasn't so done, but still was good. This is a very creative use for these cakes and I would say play around with this recipe and figure out what works for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I must not have drained my radishes enough because my mixture ended up being too wet to form into patties. I added a little more breadcrumbs and then pressed the mix into small rectangular dishes and stuck them in the freezer for an hour before trying to fry. These turned out very good. I think I will try adding diced shrimp next time for added flavor but good as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
So good! I used more Sriacha (a really good squirt) but followed everything else (pan frying, not the large amount of oil). Used a spicy sauce to cover, such as Dillapeno, Garlic Aioli Mustard Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this a lot healthier by baking the cakes on a cookie sheet lightly sprayed with a cooking spray. 10 - 12 minutes per side, in a pre-heated 425 degree oven resulted in crispy, nicely browned cakes. I also used Egg Beaters, instead of eggs to further reduce calories. My 4 star rating is based on the seasonings... I think they could be improved. Next time, I plan to try Old Bay seasoning, with plain bread crumbs (Panko), instead of the Italian seasoned bread crumbs. Overall, I really enjoyed these and will definitely try them again. Perhaps, I'll someday try adding diced Chinese sausage, as with the more traditional recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
be careful that the bread crumbs you use don't already have spices, especially salt. Ours were a wee bit salty because we did not consider this, but otherwise excellent. Am thinking about modifying a bit by dipping in egg and panko. Had some like that in China and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Delicious - the perfect use for the random daikon I had in the fridge. Didn't change anything, though I sweated the daikon on paper towel, and then squeezed out all the water I could before making the batter. Fried in a wok on high, 3 patties at a time for 90 seconds each side. They turned out crispy & full of flavour. Making some more tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very good recipe. I had told my husband that I was going to try a new vegetable and I chose a daikon radish!! This recipe was a great introduction to a new veggie and we both enjoyed it and I would make it again. I mixed some sarachi and mayo for some dipping sauce along with teriyaki pork loin. It made for a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
this was better than words can describe you must try it. I grated it as one reader suggested and left in frig overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States