Pan Fried Daikon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good. I found it a bit too salty, so you can reduce the salt and when draining the daikon, press out some extra water. If you find that the patties are not holding, add an extra egg. I used garlic chili sauce and homemade corg (Caramelized Onion and Roasted Garlic) jelly as sauces. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Very good dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Very tasty and pretty easy to make! I used much less oil - enough to cover the bottom of the pan (maybe 1/4 inch worth) and green onions instead of red. They turned out great. Also, I skipped the step of salting and draining the daikon because I had grated mine the day before and let it sit in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was surprisingly good! I had a feeling nobody would eat it - after all, who eats fried radishes? - but I had to use them up. These were DEVOURED and everyone wanted more! They were pretty easy to make, although they didn't hold together as well as I would have liked. I think next time I'll add a little more of the Sriracha sauce, they didn't have much bite as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
this was good i used rdaikon radish mushrooms salt pepper and garlic powder and fresh green onions and ritz crackers squshed up instead of bread crumbs. i fried them in just a tiny bit of olive oil it was really good! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leabers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This had a very weird taste. I could not quite put my finger on it. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Yummy! I skipped direction #1 and instead grated my daikon the night prior [tip from the previous reviewer] and squeeze the liquid out before use. Added 1 tsp of Sriracha because I like the tang. I didn't have Italian bread crumb; so, I added 1/2 tsp of Italian dressing powder mix. Delicious & easy to cook. [Must have taste buds for daikon radish.] This recipe is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Good Recipe. I was a little worried because I have never used diakon. I added shitake mushrooms and chili peppers. I also made a persimmon sauce that went excellent with the cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
We received three large daikon in our CSA delivery and I had no idea what to do with them before I found this recipe. These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosephR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covina, California, USA
Living In: Excelsior Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I live in Japan and subscribe to a grocery service that invariably sends me a daikon each week. These are not US daikon, my daikon are HUGE. My biggest shocker was the 5 kilo daikon. It was like a cricket bat! Needless to say, I struggle to use up all that daikon weekly and I frequently give it away to Japanese friends. Not anymore. This recipe is fabulous. EVERYONE, including the picky 6 year old, LOVED this recipe. I have made it twice now, served as a side dish, but I can see making it on a large scale for party nibbles. The only change I was forced to make was the sriracha - the only thing I had on hand was Thai chili sauce, which worked very well and added a nice tang. I was generous with it - probably more like a tablespoon, as it was sweet chili sauce. I also fried the cakes in just enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan - not near as much as the recipe called for. Seriously, if you have daikon in the house, make this. This recipe will change your opinion of daikon - it has changed mine - I now look forward to the daikon rather than dread them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHUXTABLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States