Pan Fried Daikon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This was the tastiest way to enjoy one of these huge radishes. I would stress draining them thoroughly, as they can fall apart during frying. Will make again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LostInFL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrettsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Wow! Who would have thought that a "radish" would taste this good! The whole family loved this dish. I've been told I can fix this anytime. I served it with chili sauce/mayo mix that was good on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Just made this recipe. It's really, really, really good. Wow! Daikon cake is my favorite dim sum, hands down. Now I can make it, or at least this version of it, at home. A friend brought me the daikon from a trip to the Japanese neighborhood in Torrence, California.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Like the other reviewers, I found this weird radish thing in my CSA basket and was all like, "Huh?" So Allrecipes to the rescue and I decided to make these radish patties! THEY WERE GREAT. I let my radishes stand on a kitchen towel for the better part of an afternoon (I had plenty of time) so I could cut down on salt content. I added some green onions so I could use them before they went bad and left out the hot sauce (didn't have any.) Other than that, I followed the recipe and was pleasantly surprised. Thanks for giving me something to do besides host fake sword fights with the gigantic radishes I got with my CSA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Great use of Daikon Radishes. I got a bunch from the CSA I am in and was at a loss as to what to use them with since I do not like the tang of a radish. This was a great use and was delicious. I used a little garlic aioli as a dip for them and it worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
The flavor is close to a spring roll, and the texture is like a crab cake. Here were mistakes I made that you should avoid: I did not drain the daikon well enough, so the mixture was too wet and did not hold together. I did not chop the red onions small enough, and the larger pieces fell off of the patty. I used the full amount of recommended oil, and the first batch of patties fell apart and floated in the pool of oil. I drained my pan and used a thin layer of oil for better results with the second batch. Other changes: I did not have paprika so I used cayenne (1/4 teaspoon). They were spicy! I did not have Sriracha so I used a Thai chili garlic sauce. I did not have bread crumbs, so I made some out of pulverized wheat toast. Still warm, so the steam might have kept the patty from holding together. Even though we ate the pieces with a fork like it was a side of rice, it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbilina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
LOVE IT! I didn't use the salt to dry out the daikon since I never really use salt - just shredded and used paper towels to remove moisture. OH, and I coated the patties in Panko (Japanese style bread crumbs) so that they had an added crunch on the outside! This was totally an awesome way to use daikon, and I will be using this recipe in my regular rotation for sure! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
WAY too salty, but will try again with salt to taste because I can imagine it would be good if the salt was less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Walton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Good recipe. The daikon radish cakes were enjoyed also by a friend of mine who would never touch a radish. I did, however, take some other comments advice to cut back on the salt and the oil. It worked out fine. One of my farmer friends gave me more daikon radishes and I am bringing the cakes to a family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by may0nessa
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was AMAZING!!! I didn't have purple onions on hand, so I substituted with shallots. It was loaded with flavor, and for a dipping sauce I made a garlic chili aioli. Will def. make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States