Pan Fried Daikon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Delicious - the perfect use for the random daikon I had in the fridge. Didn't change anything, though I sweated the daikon on paper towel, and then squeezed out all the water I could before making the batter. Fried in a wok on high, 3 patties at a time for 90 seconds each side. They turned out crispy & full of flavour. Making some more tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Very good recipe. I had told my husband that I was going to try a new vegetable and I chose a daikon radish!! This recipe was a great introduction to a new veggie and we both enjoyed it and I would make it again. I mixed some sarachi and mayo for some dipping sauce along with teriyaki pork loin. It made for a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
this was better than words can describe you must try it. I grated it as one reader suggested and left in frig overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great recipe for an item we don't usually find in our kitchen. They even reheated well, and I was able to get my teenager to eat some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Very simple to make, though I did have to add an extra egg to keep it all together when I fried it. Maybe I didn't squeeze out enough water from the radish? I also used only half the salt it called for, and a touch more garlic-siracha (yum). I ate these with sour cream, and my husband garnished his with more siracha. Next time I will grate the onion instead of mincing it. You could easily add in zucchini or grated potato too. I could see making these as vegetable pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I'll give the recipe a five star rating. I made it with daikon radish as written. The only adjustment I had to make was to use plain bread crumbs and Italian seasoning. I thought overall it was a little bland, but that's what condiments are for. A drop of sriracha chili sauce on top of the cakes was a perfect touch. I'm going to use this recipe again later this summer when the zucchini starts to set on. Really, when you consider all the other ingredients, the radish is just a bulk agent, so zucchini or any other mild vegetable will work as a great substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This was awesome!! I got Daikon in a co-op basket and looked up this recipe. I didn't have the chili sauce, so I added some Louisiana hot sauce, which I will add more of the next time. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Yummy! These were even good cold. I doubled the eggs just to be sure they stuck together because the radishes were still pretty wet. Served them as a side to Greek chicken patty. Perfect dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I found that little changes to the recipe don't really matter much- I didn't have Italian seasoned bread crumbs, so used Panko and threw in some Penzyes "Pizza Seasoning"- also used "Italian" seasoning as an extra. Didn't have red onion once, so I've used green onion, and also shallots in the past- I've dressed them with mayo mixed with dill, lemon, and garlic. I fry them in ghee mixed with grape seed oil- but I think any oil or butter would be great. They're a big hit every time I make them- they are delicious! One tip- not only do I salt and let rest over night to remove water, I then throw the grated radish into a towel and squeeze to remove more. The drier the radish is, the easier is stays together once you throw in the rest of the ingredients. Thanks so much for the recipe- this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Easy, tasty and mu husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States