Pan-Fried Chinese Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These are so yummy. My friend would take me to restaurants and had to order for us in Cantonese and he'd always get onion pancakes for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Kitahara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
4-28-11: I love scallion pancakes! I would've lowered the ratings if I made it as is. Just by looking, I know and agree with the flour/water being way off. Start with 1/4 cup water (if using the 1 cup flour;8 smaller pancakes or 4 reg sizes) and add more by a teaspoon at a time if needed. I also skipped the flour/veg oil crumb mixture; to me, it was unnecessary. 12-16-12: I didn't feel like kneading with my hand today, spin used the bread machine instead but used the whole amount of 3/4 water and added at least 3/4-1 cup flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
While the measurments may have been slightly off, we started with just a bit of water and added as we went. Also found that the flour crumbles didnt add anything extra, but also didn't take away from the wonderful flavours. But the taste of these are fantastic, just like at Dim Sum! Now a defenite staple anytime I make stir-fry. Once I got the method down it's easy to make anytime I have the craving! Definite 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bambigirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mochiche
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Yummy! Mine came out crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside, and had a great taste. I did add about 3/4 c extra flour, and also doubled the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This took me a long time to make but I think with practice I could whip some up in no time. They had a great texture with a mild onion-y taste, but definitely need a sauce to go with them - I tried a spicy chutney that was delicious, but I think Chinese sweet and sour sauce would be best. Also, I had to add much more flour than the recipe called for, enough to make it solid enough to knead. I'll try these again for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I liked the recipe but it requires more 3/4 cup of flour to make a soft dough. If not, it is impossible to knead! I also made dumpling sauce to complement the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Very good but they tasted a bit floury despite the frying in oil, I made them exactly as the recipe described for ingredients. However, I tasted them right after they fried and found they were floury and too crisp. I then steamed them in my bamboo steamer for ~3 min, as the ones I have had before in restaurants were somewhat soft. They were good and I will make them again but maybe roll them thinner, so that the flour cooks better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
They're way to salty, and you needn't add so much oil. Also, the flour is way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. The dough was wet, sticky and unworkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I think the amount of flour is off. I had to add 3/4 cup more to make soft dough otherwise the dough will be runny. There won't be any kneading to do! I live in Shanghai and there's this thing called "Dong Bei Qiang Bing" and it looked a lot like the photo here but this definately wasn't it. Because this so-called "pancake" lacks in taste and need sauce to dip it in. I've had many Chinese street food but this one is not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zhou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

These seasonal favorites are light, airy, and delicate, not dense and cakey.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States