Pan Fried Catfish Filets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I would have liked these to be a bit saltier, so I will make sure to be really generous with the salt next time (salt isn't listed as an ingredient, by the way, but it's definitely necessary as the instructions suggest). Otherwise, though, this recipe was great. I followed one of the other reviewer's instructions and dipped my fillets in a coating of flour before I dipped them into the milk and then the cornmeal mix, and the coating adhered to the fish! I put an exclamation mark because normally I cannot get fried coatings to stay in place to save my life. Overall I was really pleased with how these came out. I served them with roasted red pepper tartar sauce and a side of steamed broccoli with a bit of butter and everyone was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Excellent crunch and flavor. Passed my mother's "really good" test and I will definitely do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Excellent! This is a great recipe, although I made a few changes, based on reviews (BNLeuck was VERY helpful). I left out the garlic, used canola oil instead, used half cornmeal and half flour and substituted a Cajun spice mix for the cayenne pepper. Delicious. And for all of those who mentioned they had to finish it in the oven, just a suggestion: In any fish, meat or chicken dish, cooking time generally varies a bit with the thickness of the cut or filet. I'm curious though - how long and what temp did you use to finish this in the oven?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
A lightly seasoned coating with nice texture. The only change I made was that I replaced the catfish with Swai. Cooking the garlic in the oil was a nice touch and gave the fish another layer without being overpowering. HOWEVER, even though my fish fillets were rather thin, they were under cooked at the 7 minute max cooking. Not the fault of the recipe, but the cook. Chunk up the fish after cooking and this would be great in fish tacos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I reduced cayenne to 1 teaspoon fearing fish would become too spicy for my family. The fish turned out very good. I like cooking with olive oil, the next time I will reduce the heat to prevent fish getting too dark on outside before done on inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I only eat fish if its fried and I always pan fry with EVOO. This was wonderful. I love garlic and added about a teaspoon or so of powder to my italian bread crumbs (which I prefer over cornmeal on my fish). It was a touch spicy so I may add slightly less cayenne next time. I've never made spicy fish before but will definitely be making this again. I used this on Tilapia since that is what I usually buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this for dinner tonight and enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
i made this exactly by the directions and it was easy and really tasty. i'd actually never made catfish before and i think it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
As written, it isn't terrible, but there are some issues. The garlic tends to burn easily, and the fish really doesn't need it; but if you want that flavor, use some garlic powder in the seasoning. The seasonings listed aren't bad at all, but cajun seasoning is even better. Whatever seasoning you use, use it directly on the fish. It gives it awesome flavor. Lightly coat the fish in flour before dipping in milk, too. It helps attach the crust to the fish a little better. And as a matter of personal taste, split the cornmeal with half flour. I think it makes for a more cohesive crust. The salt is not listed on the ingredients list, but it is essential. Make sure not to miss it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNMacKenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Chef John's Miso-Glazed Barramundi

A light, flavorful Asian-inspired glaze for a mild, flakey white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States