Pan Fried Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Num! Even if you think you don't like Brussels Sprouts you may like this! Just don't overcook them, they turn unpleasantly mushy and bitter. Like other reviewers mentioned it really helps the texture to microwave or steam lightly before browning in the skillet. It is fine to go ahead and stir, just give them time to brown. I only used fresh garlic and didn't bother with garlic powder. Served with pork tenderloin and rice pilaf for a tummy warming autumn meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I started cooking them this way about a year ago, but added in some chopped red sweet pepper in place of the onion. The flavors really suit one another - the bitter with the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
these were really good. we love sprouts as is but decided to try something new with them and it was so much better. Sent it out to others to try and everyone is raving about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huffman, Texas, USA
Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I used shallots instead of onions. These were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marion, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Seasoning was good but sprouts were to tough, need away to get them alittle more tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
It was really good! Next time I will add the garlic and onions at the same time as the brussel sprouts though, cause they were burnt to a crisp. I also added butter. yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Good, and even better with cooked, crumbled bacon. Not a good idea to cook without stirring - you'll risk burning the garlic. Garlic powder in addition to fresh garlic not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These were good sprouts! I cut them in half to shorten cooking time, and I threw everything into the pan at once (I don't like my garlic to darken that much). At the end I sprinked the sprouts with Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Served this for Thanksgiving dinner with my kids and grand kids. Everyone enjoyed them even my two year old grandson! Best way to serve brussels sprouts. Too bad this vegetable always gets such a rap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Really good. I didn't put in any garlic and I used some bacon fat to saute the onions and brussel sprouts. Very tasty using frozen sprouts that I had allowed to almost thaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States