Pan-Fried Asparagus with Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This is a perfectly simple method to prepare asparagus. You can never go wrong w/butter and the onions add a nice touch. We paired these with grilled delmonico steaks and it was a marriage made in heaven. I really like that these are pan fried as opposed to my go to roasting method for when the oven is otherwise occupied. THANKS for the recipe, Laurie Brenner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Awesome:) I subbed EVOO for the butter and sea salt for the onion (didn't have any). Simple and delicious, thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Five star for a very good quick and easy basic recipe! I wasn't in the mood for the butter flavor so used extra virgin olive oil instead. Also, used a sweet red onion because that's what I had on hand and it turned out great because the sweeter flavor was divine! Didn't use any seasoning because decided ahead of time to serve garnished with fresh finely shredded parmesan and sliced (julienne style) pre-cooked pancetta instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Very good, basic recipe - easy to make and goes with everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have never tried this with onion salt, but I won't eat asparagus any other way than pan fried in butter. It is soo yummy. I like to leave it tender crisp, or I like to cook it until the ends are darkened. Both ways are delicious. I sprinkle mine with sesame seeds when I serve, as it adds just a little something extra. My kids love the sesame seeds on there too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Simple, yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
This quick and easy recipe earned me RAVE reviews! I used 1 tbsp. of olive oil instead of the second tbsp. of butter because of the high heat, and accidentally let the asparagus and onions go longer than I intended while I was working on something else. It turned out to be a happy accident, though, because we ended up with a delicious caramelization effect that I will try to duplicate on purpose next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Can't go wrong with onion and asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Delicious. Easy. One pan only. I subbed ghee, (clarified butter) to make it GAPS friendly, (GAPSdiet.com). I put regular kosher salt instead of onion salt. It all came out lovely-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

How to Cook Asparagus

See tips for steaming or roasting spears of fresh asparagus.

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

See how to make a top-rated asparagus side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States